We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic seafood in unpretentious surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #11 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Lechlade
Level Contributor
129 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Authentic seafood in unpretentious surroundings”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had an excellent lunch my husband had 2 courses for £12, a superb chowder followed by fresh crab cakes & I had moulles which were succulent & tasty. The restaurant was clean & welcoming. The service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurray. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    194
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“great for seafood lovers”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

have eaten here a few times and always found the changing menu a challenge in what to choose as everything is tempting..................well worth a visit..................staff very welcoming and helpful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelstonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must for seafood lovers”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My partner (not usually a seafood lover) and I had a lovely meal here. We shared the Shack Stack and were very pleased with it. We don't like oysters so the staff substituted extra seafood of our choice and were very helpful in explaining how to tackle the crab. The shellfish was delicious, the house wine was reasonably priced and service was friendly but not obtrusive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish we'd tried it sooner”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Staying for a week in Falmouth, decided to try this place for lunch on the last day as we were staying just yards away overlooking the marina. Very inviting inside, warm welcome and small but really tempting choice of seafood (plus a few other non-fish dishes).

We went for the 2 course lunch offer: starters of whitebait and fish soup, mains of hake and Coquilles St Jacques. So fresh and quantities perfect for lunch; some of the other dishes going past looked really inviting, especially the seafood platter for 2 which comes complete with protective clothing when attacking the lobster and huge brown crab!

Would have given 5 stars, except the bechamel source with the scallops was rather floury and would have benefited from a little extra cooking. That aside, fabulous and will return without a doubt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InvernessChoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
“great”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great fresh seafood , great staff but is a little loud when full but shack stack was amazing falmouth has sone great little restaurants and this is one .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonJonahgreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing