We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal let down by pudding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shack

The Shack
Ranked #11 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal let down by pudding”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellent scallops for starters, tasty roast cod mains, pudding disappointing. Two of us went for lemon tart with raspberry coulis (which maybe they had run out of) - it came with an unpleasant
sickly strawberry sauce. To be fair this was replaced on the house with other choices, which were OK but a bit more focus on desserts would have pushed it up to five stars for us

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExeterDinnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    194
    40
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Seafood Supper”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you want to eat seafood in a relaxed atmosphere and for a very reasonable price this is the place to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrelowarrenCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shack Stack”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our 2nd favourite restaurant in Falmouth! Try the Shack Stack for sharing - a wonderful mix of fish and shellfish (including a delicious crab) that came with a plate of beautifully cooked chips. They were happy for my son and I to share half a lobster for our starter, and were very patient at explaining how best to access all the juicy meat. Our apologies to the couple on the table next to us who were splashed with lobster meat when I hit it too hard attempting to crack it open. If you are offered a plastic bib I suggest you accept. The staff were very accommodating of my daughter's allergies and arranged for the restaurant next door to cook a fish free meal for her. We need more restaurants that understand the problems faced by diners with allergies.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank damsonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely seafood. Lobster to die for. Nice atmosphere. Don't need to dress up. Friendly staff. if visiting at the weekend I would suggest you book as quite a few people were turned away due to them not booking. I would recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sav074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

One of the best places we've ate in, in falmouth. The food was great, tasty and fresh i had a whole crab and my husband had steak and we cant complain. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, staff freindly. Overall lovely dinner. Definately recommend. Definately will revisit if ever in falmouth again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing