We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for a big family or group”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Trethellan View

Spacious lounge with vaulted ceiling, exposed beams, and access to the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with vaulted ceiling, exposed beams, and access to the garden
Another view of the comfortable seating area - plenty of space for 8! The perfect spot to plan your Cornish days out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Spacious lounge with vaulted ceiling, exposed beams, and access to the garden
Another view of the comfortable seating area - plenty of space for 8!
The perfect spot to plan your Cornish days out
Spacious dining kitchen with all the appliances you need to cook up a feast!
Dining area comfortably seats 8 and is bathed in natural light. Stairs to the lounge on the right.
Large downstairs double with split level floor and exposed beams
Another view of the downstairs double showing door to en-suite shower room
Enjoy a tranquil view from your bedroom
Four poster bed and vaulted ceiling in the upstairs double (also has large en suite)
Downstairs twin room
2nd downstairs twin bedroom
Relax in the stylish family bathroom
Trethellan view dates from the 17th century and is beleived to have once been a watermill
Private back garden pefect for al fresco dining
Drive through our grounds to reach your home from home
Plenty of dedicated parking here (Trethellan View on the right with our Farmhouse on the left)
Camilla, our Welsh pony loves a nose-tickle
Our kids will be happy to introduce you to our alpacas
A selection of our chickens
Enjoy a woodland walk through some of our grounds
One of the many fantastic beaches nearby (this one is Portreath)
Our central location ensures all of Cornwall's wonderful attractions are within easy reach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrahamWit...
Warwick, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal base for a big family or group”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Trethellan with our adult daughters and their partners and 2½ year old granddaughter.
The kitchen was spacious and well equipped, with a nice large table that we could all sit around. The good set of modern appliances lacked only a dryer, and it wasn't easy to get things dry on the folding 'clothes horse'.
The lounge too was spacious and comfortable, with three sofas, and well equipped with entertainment options.
The bedrooms were a good size and well furnished, but the ones downstairs were rather gloomy owing to poor lighting. This also applied to the en suite shower room and the family bathroom.
Overall the property is spacious and comfortable with most of the amenities a large family or group would need. It is clean, well-furnished and reasonably well maintained. There is some dampness in the air in the lower bedrooms, perhaps to be expected in a building of this age and type, which is not wholly remedied by the electric dehumidifier provided.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Many thanks for your comments Mr Murrell. I noted your comments on the lighting on your departure and have now remedied this, so thanks for pointing out. I'm glad that you had a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard50...
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Plenty of room so we didn't get under each others' feet. Comfortable rooms. Peaceful rural location. A great place for a getaway for a family or group. Even the lack of mobile phone signal was a plus!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Best wishes, Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyandCo...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good cottage, but could be so much better”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you're in a large family group looking for a quiet location but with easy access to all of Cornwall's attractions, you could do a lot worse. The accommodation is fine for 8 people. Spacious kitchen and lounge and plenty of room in the bed rooms. With 2 en-suites, a bathroom and a cloakroom, there's no shortage of facilities. The location is about 5 minutes from the nearest A road so pretty quiet, beautiful countryside with animals and play facilities to keep the kiddies amused. Nicola (the owner) was very welcoming and friendly and seemed to be very busy all the time.

However, there are a number of issues that could be improved upon:

Firstly, the property is set into a hill, such that the downstairs bedrooms are at ground level at the front of the house, but way below ground level at the rear of the house. This has led to a musty smell in all the downstairs bedrooms that the supplied dehumidifier didn't seem to have any effect on.

Secondly, there were cobwebs everywhere in the house. In all the windows, on the ceilings, walls, in corners etc. Nothing that a good cleaning session wouldn't solve, I know it is a farm location and it must be difficult to keep on top of it, but not really what you expect from a holiday rental.

Thirdly, The water in the shower in the upstairs en-suite completely stopped at times. Presumably where someone downstairs turned on one or more taps. If you have a house with 8 people in it, you can't expect to have to schedule showers so some improvement required here.

Lastly, and the easiest issue to solve. The knives in the kitchen couldn't even cut butter. I squashed a lemon to death trying to cut a slice for my G&T.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Many thanks for your review and I am sorry that things could have been better.! Cobwebs are an ongoing issue for us and when I cleaned the barn after your departure (my cleaner was sick), I did notice a lot of them, so I will ask my cleaner to try to keep on top of them more. I'm sorry about the musty smell - the central heating normally counters this but in very hot weather it doesn't come on. I haven't had a comment about the upstairs shower before - I will check whether this is an ongoing issue. I will also buy new knives! I do hope that this didn't spoil your enjoyment of the holiday. Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty S
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend away!”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We wanted a weekend to celebrate my birthday with our family & friends. This consisted of 4 adults & 4 children. When we arrived at the barn we had to drive past the field with the Alpacas, goats, ponies & chickens. The children were so excited!
Then we viewed the property - WOW! The converted barn was huge & beautiful inside. Everything was set up for us to enjoy our stay. The beds were so comfy, you just melted in them!
The children couldn't wait to meet the animals, the owners were so friendly & told us all about them. There was a play area for the children & loads of space where they could play & climb trees.
This was the perfect place to spend our weekend away & will definitely be going back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location with the animals.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillandJa...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting but needing some TLC”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week away at Trethellan View. What a fantastic location away from the masses. On arrival we were pleasantly greeted by the animals which the children loved. There is plenty of space for all to spread out.

Sadly once you scratch away the surface not all was as it seemed. The ground floor bedrooms smelt very damp and there was a dehumidifier in the end twin room with an open window which was a little alarming for July! The house hadn't been cleaned very well (just had to move any item of furniture and it was not pleasant). Everything was looking a little tired - TV (broken remote) / fridge (broken inside) / sofas (dirty) / beds (poor mattresses and pillows - went out and bought new pillows!). The WiFi was OK but a bit flakey at times - best stood outside and that led to the garden needing a good weed too!

With a very good clean and some new items, such as a new TV and bigger fridge (not suitable for 8 people), this house could be amazing once again. I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone if it was just given a little TLC. Hope to come again one day maybe.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The general state
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
I am sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay. It is unfortunate that I am away on holiday at the moment and therefore not on hand to deal with problems when they occur. I appreciate that this doesn't help with your holiday experience and I can only apologise. I will attend to the matters mentioned on my return. Thanks, Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max H
1 review
“Fantastic Rural Accommodation”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Spent a week here with 4 friends. We could've comfortably had the full 8 people there though, there is plenty of room! Kitchen is well equipped and large, lovely comfy living area, plenty of bathroom facilities. A ten minute drive to the nearest town, but that was exactly what we wanted. Lovely area to walk around and get away from everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ck109
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We went away with our 2 girls and 3 members of our extended family. The House is very big and easily coped with so many people. The kids play area and anilmals are great for the little ones.

The kitchen is fully stocked with appliances and utensils and the free wi-fi is a real bonus these days

Location is great for Falmouth, Penzance, etc

Couldn't have been happier.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing