We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean, Good breakfasts & very Friendly Staff”

Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean, Good breakfasts & very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for a rainy 3 night break in Falmouth. Loved the location of this hotel - easy to find and a nice walk to the town Quay or the local beach. Easy, free Parking on hotel driveway.
This is a good old fashioned B&B that's had a bit of sprucing up in the right places - Freeview TV's, Nice dining room for excellent breakfasts - they even cut up your grapefruit for you and add a raspberry!
Local restaurants were in walking distance and provided fantastic cuisine - Loved Clarkes in the town and Harvey's Wharf. "The Cove" is only 5 mins drive away too.
Comfy bed, loads of leaflets and info on what to do (Eden Project is about half an hour away) and friendly service.
Will definately use this hotel again for visiting Cornwall...want to come back in the summer next time!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PillingsBoathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
38
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
worcs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Booked B&B for 3 nights.The downstairs area we didnt have a problem with,food,staff bar area,lounge all realy nice.we slept in room 18 the toilet was too close to bed ie there was carpet down in that area,whenever the door opened there was a distinctive smell of urine,which i presume had soaked into the carpet,i suggest lino! The room was damp,cold and smelly.The sheets felt wet when we got into bed.The furniture is obviously new and up to date but the room is in a bad state,carpet and woodwork dirty and damaged.We realy couldnt stay another night!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonkyWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Chose this hotel as a base for a family wedding. We arrived to glorious weather and a very warm welcome from the owners. We were offered tea in the relaxing garden with a lovely view of the sea.

Breakfasts were delicious, particularly the full English and the staff were helpful at all times and really accommoating with our children's sometimes odd requests for food.

We lost our key during our stay and the owner was very understanding (as I realise this caused some problems for them).

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and found the owners and staff exceptional at all times. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just returned from 3 night stay. Travelling with husband, daughter & partner and another couple. I am sure that a couple of the previous negative reviews must have been refering to some other hotel as we found this excellent. The location is fantastic a couple of minutes from a delightful little beach and an easy walk into town. Falmouth is full of great places to eat and the habour is an ever changing delight. The accomodation was clean, beds comfortable, rooms well equipped and breakfast plentiful and delicious. The louge/bar area is lovely and the garden and terrace a relaxing place to sit at the end of the day.We were in Cornwall for a family wedding and on the morning of the big day when I suddenly had to rewrite a speech for my husband the owner was extremely helpful allowing me to use his computer to make alterations. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I travel for work constantly and am a stickler for good service and cleanliness. Spent 3 days midweek here for pure relaxation. Hotel is a family run business with an exceptionally welcoming attitude - just read the comments book to see for yourself. Amazed at the range of breakfast available. Try the cheese & tomato omelette - the best I have tasted in years!
Centrally located for beach and town, local information readily available from reception. Have already booked my next visit for spring 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gyllyngvase House Hotel. Beds were comfortable, breakfast superb (plenty of choice) and service very good. The whole place was clean and very nicely decorated. The sitting room with newspapers, magazines and bookshelves we particularly liked. Short walk from beach one way and harbour front the other way, with many bars and restaurants to choose from. Loads to do in Falmouth - ferry trips, Maritime Museum, walks, castles, great gardens nearby. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Just been down to Falmouth on our holidays. Our first time and we loved the place, so much to see and do. Gyllyngvase house hotel suited us perfectly, delicious breakfasts and a comfortable bar to sit in when the kids have gone to bed. Staff great, especially paul who had us laughing all night long. Great value for money. Sad to leave. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlylizzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyllyngvase House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyllyngvase House Hotel

Property: Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Address: Gyllyngvase Road, Falmouth TR11 4GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gyllyngvase House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gyllyngvase House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gyllyngvase Hotel Falmouth
Gyllyngvase House Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing