We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is master of all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location of this hotel, just outside of Falmouth in very rural and pleasant area, providing tranquillity, peace and quiet. The manor house itself is a very attractive building with a large extension build in a similar style to the older building and has recently been joined by a bar conversion thereby increasing its capacity. The location in 6 acres overlooking the sea in the distance is very nice and picturesque. The standard of the rooms were a little tired and in our room suffered from a cracked sink in the bathroom, Green bathrooms remind me so much of 1970 and 80 that I thought they had all been replaced, plenty of hot water, although when running the tap in the sink gave anyone sleeping nearby a loud and rude wakeup call even if running the tap at a slow rate. The room furniture was dark, a little dated and could have been better placed. The TV a modern flat screen, albeit tiny, 22 inches at best was placed on the side of the room and did not provide a comfortable viewing position when lying in bed. No other seating arrangements within the room for more than one person. This meant either being in a position where two people could view be standing up or sitting on the edge of the bed. Lying in bed in a comfortable position where you could watch TV was impossible. The breakfast was buffet and consisted of the usual cereal, fruit, yoghurts and English cooked fare.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The website shows some lovely pictures of the Victorian Manor house, but not one picture of the modern extension in which we stayed ... in what was definitely the smallest double room I've ever encountered. For some unfathomable reason, this little room had been designed with a small window tucked right into a corner, specifically to allow in minimum sunlight. Then another great design decision - dark brown furniture to emphasise the gloominess of the room and the dull decor. Depressing. And nowhere near enough storage for a week's worth of clothing.
Breakfast was fine, but rather limited in choice. And don't expect a weekend concession. No extra half hour lay-in here. Oh, and don't expect newspapers on Sundays ?!?!
We never found a "candlelit restaurant". Just a brightly lit, cavernous function room with not one tiny iota of the "warm country feel" described on the website.
I guess when they talk about the vegetables "home grown" on site, they were not talking about the sorry vegetable patch I saw (well, not unless nettle soup was on the menu). Must be a different site somewhere.

Plus points - the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and (mostly) efficient. The gardens are pleasant and there's a lovely view from the front lawn.
The 2 evening meals we ate in the hotel were good but overpriced. Wine was very expensive. And we were charged £12 for a glass of Hine (cognac) … this is only £1 less than they charge in the Ritz Piccadilly !!!
The hotel is a quite a distance from Falmouth, so meals out are limited by one person having to remain tea-total.

Conclusion : Accommodation and food and drink all overpriced in comparison to any other similar hotel we've ever stayed at. And the only hotel at which we've been charged an extra 2% for paying with a credit card !!

Room Tip: Don't !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My cousin held her wedding ceremony and reception here last Saturday and the day was absolutely perfect. Would have rated them as a five star but for the stress that went on during the organisation of the day. The food was superb and the location could not have been better - as it is a small hotel there were no other guests around so we had the large lawn and function room to ourselves, the children had play equipment to keep them amused and the waiting staff were very attentive. The hotel is old so do not expect shining new facilities in the rooms and public areas but everywhere was very clean. Would recommend to anyone looking to hold a wedding and reception in the same location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My self and partner stayed at the coach house cottage for a week all i can say is a great place to stay friendly staff and a great location for visiting anywhere in cornwall it is very close to asda and falmouth harbour and town centre would stay there again one day

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbricoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel. Spent 6 days there, 3 in cottage and 3 in hotel. Beautiful gardens, great view and wonderful staff. Nothing was to much trouble and we were treated like old friends. The dining experience was great, breakfast and dinner were very good with lovely surroundings.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillCopacabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 overnights in mid-July 2013 as part of a 13-night trip to England. Booked as a Bed & Breakfast-Accomadation it is of course more like a hotel and can't have the same setting and feel as a owner-led B&B. Our room was a bit small but otherwise ok - nothing to complain about. Breakfast is either buffet or ordered and served at the table - thumbs up. It included all you could think of.
The surrounding garden and parking is spacious and well cared of.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Arrived to a very unfriendly welcome first they appeared to have lost my booking then they insisted on payment upfront and charged me extra for using a credit card! The room was actually quite good but it had not been cleaned properly, the toilet seat was stuck together with toothpaste and there were hairs in the shower. I would have complained but I was already late for a party and the receptionist was nowhere to be found. I had a quick look through the kitchen door on the way out and decided that I wasn't going near the restaurant. This is an expensive place for such poor standards, it is being run like a budget BnB, I definitely won't be staying again and I strongly recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FostersBeergut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P, Manager at Penmorvah Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your valued feed back and I am sorry that your visit did not meet with your expectations.
In response I would like to comment that I apologise for the confusion on your arrival this was because when your laterooms booking came through your surname was listed as your Christian name. Payments are taken in advance as we do not have the facility to pre-authorise guests cards as many hotels may do.
Regarding your comment on the kitchen I can only assume that you looked in through our wash up area, not the main kitchen. We were recently awarded a 5 Star Food Hygiene award through Cornwall Council Food Standards Agency. This is the highest award available and one of only a few that achieved this. I would welcome you to have a guided tour of our kitchen should you wish to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
2.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,129 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel

Address: Penjerrick Hill | Penmorvah Manor Hotel, Budock Water, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: $101 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing