We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful well worth visiting”
Review of Glendurgan Garden

Glendurgan Garden
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lose yourself in the three valleys of Glendurgan Garden - full of fun, natural beauty and amazing plants. Discover giant rhubarb plants in the jungle-like lower valley and spiky arid plants basking in the sunny upper slopes. Wander through the garden down to the beautiful hamlet of Durgan on the Helford River: a place to watch birds and boats, skim stones and build sand-castles.Find a boat-seat, gigantic tulip-trees and ponds teeming with wildlife. Learn about the Fox family who created this 'small peace [sic] of heaven on earth.'
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful well worth visiting”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The gardens are beautiful, tea room and shop well worth stopping off in. Good selection of beautiful plants to buy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ymb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonODonoghue, Manager at Glendurgan Garden, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear ymb1,

We're really grateful that you took the time to give us a review. Our gardeners, tea-room and shop teams will be really pleased to read your comments. I do hope we'll be able to welcome you to Glendurgan in the future - perhaps in the Spring when the banks are full of wild-flowers?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    234
    60
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
237 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely Walks”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm not a great garden person but visited Glendurgan with parents whilst in the area.
We were greeted by an enthusiastic gent as we drove into the parking area who explained the layout, and advised that there were no toilets or cafe once inside the garden so he recomended that you make use of the facilities before entering. We waited for a fellow NT person to guide us to a parking spot as parking spaces were limited as it was a busy period.

We partook in resreshments in the cafe, but as the previous review mentions were bothered by an excessive number of wasps, the hanging traps had caught quite a few but there were still a large number around.

The walk through the gardens was interesting and we visited the small village and beach at the bottom both of which are just outside the gardens but you can get refreshments and there are toilet facilities here ( they are not mentioned by the NT staff on arrival) even though they are NT

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonODonoghue, Manager at Glendurgan Garden, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear elverman,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us here at Glendurgan. I'm pleased to read that our car park team were helpful at the start of your visit on a busy day.

Unfortunately given that our cafe has outside seating and we sell home-made cakes and cream-teas which contain sugar it does mean that wasps are attracted.

I'm sorry that we didn't mention the ice-creams and toilet in Durgan village at the bottom of the garden. Sometimes at our busiest we don't have the time to explain all the facilities on offer but our free welcome map does include all our eating, shopping and toilet facilities. You should have been given one of these on arrival - if not then I sincerely apologise.

I'm glad to read that you found the walk through the garden interesting despite not being a great garden person. Glendurgan is a balance of natural gardening (wild-flowers, wildlife, native trees) and an exotic plant collection. This combination in a valley setting leading to Durgan village on the Helford river makes for very enjoyable visits for our visitors. As you can probably imagine the garden changes a great deal throughout the seasons and I do hope you're able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Garden Visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

As NT members my husband and I visit as many gardens as we can. What a gem!
Well kept, interesting plants and useful information on the way around.
Also there is the added attraction of the village at the bottom.
We treated ourselves to a cream tea and were bothered by the wasps so be careful. Nobodies fault - nature at work!
We both thoroughly enjoyed our visit and could see an interest for families as well as us oldies!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonODonoghue, Manager at Glendurgan Garden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Julie D,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review after your visit to Glendurgan. Thank-you also for your membership which helps us look after places like Glendurgan and the coast surrounding it. As garden enthusiasts you certainly came to a great county for plant collections and the natural beauty of our many gardens.
I was really pleased to read that you found the information we've placed around the garden useful - this is work in progress for us and we're trying to balance keeping the feel of a relaxed family garden without too much clutter and at the same time helping visitors of all ages discover more about the plants and stories Glendurgan holds.
We know our visitors love being outdoors at Glendurgan and they also love the local ice-cream and home-made cakes we sell. Unfortunately as you observed this does attract wasps but thankfully after an initial peak of activity they seem to have diminished now.

Thank-you again for your kind words which the team here will really appreciate - and we hope to see you at Glendurgan again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant half day out”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The kids loved the maze and walking down to the beach where there are great rock pools when the tide is out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob43951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonODonoghue, Manager at Glendurgan Garden, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear bob43951,

Thank-you for taking the time to review Glendurgan. I'm glad the children enjoyed the maze and beach. We're very lucky to have not only a good section of beach at Durgan for sandcastles, skimming stones and swimming but also as you say when the tide is out we've got really good rock-pools for exploring.

Our events page http://bit.ly/GLevents has details of any special family activities and we also post dates when the tide is low during the middle of the day i.e. dates when there's lots of opportunity for rock-pooling. Do keep an eye out on that page if you're in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Adventure”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Glendurgan Garden has been recommended by a friend and I am glad that we took her advice and visited. We went with our children, aged 9 & 7 - who also enjoyed our morning there. It is a pleasant walk through the gardens down to the beach, quite steep at places - which we enjoyed (felt like a good work out and a bit more of an adventure for the children), but I think there were various routes - some easier than others. The maze was really good fun, and the children also loved the rope swing. The little beach at the bottom is great - we skimmed stones and climbed over the rocks. It all felt like good simple fun, which made a really nice change. Staff were friendly and helpful. We found the garden and beach clean and nicely kept, and the toilets were good. Perfect for a half day visit if you are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VerbenaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonODonoghue, Manager at Glendurgan Garden, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear VerbenaGirl,

Thank-you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us here at Glendurgan. It's great to hear that we'd been recommended to you and that you all enjoyed your visit. I was interested to note that you felt it was 'good simple fun' as this is what Glendurgan is all about and has been since its creation back in the 1830s. Thank-you for your kind comments concerning the staff too - they take great pride in welcoming everyone to Glendurgan so will be really pleased to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendurgan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Glendurgan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing