We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and unusual plants” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendurgan Garden

Glendurgan Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.87*
and up
Stand up Paddle Board Hire Package
Ranked #3 of 58 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lose yourself in the three valleys of Glendurgan Garden - full of fun, natural beauty and amazing plants. Discover giant rhubarb plants in the jungle-like lower valley and spiky arid plants basking in the sunny upper slopes. Wander through the garden down to the beautiful hamlet of Durgan on the Helford River: a place to watch birds and boats, skim stones and build sand-castles.Find a boat-seat, gigantic tulip-trees and ponds teeming with wildlife. Learn about the Fox family who created this 'small peace [sic] of heaven on earth.'
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting and unusual plants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited this garden at the beginning of June. As the garden is in a valley running down to the Helford River the paths are steep and as there had been heavy rain a few hours before they were a bit slippy in places however we made it down to the beach safely. There are a lot of exotic plants but not a lot in the way of colour - it is not that type of garden. The very old maze looks interesting and children were enjoying it. From the beach you could walk to Helford Passage along the coast path.

The small cafe is not National Trust and is at the entrance at top of the hill. When we went a lot of people (including a Dutch coach party) seemed to have walked round the garden and all ended up in the cafe at the same time, resulting in a long wait to even pay for a cold drink . (Take drinks with you as did not see anything down at the beach). Sandwich etc menu looked interesting but as we were 10 minutes too early to order we gave it a miss.

We travelled by local bus from Falmouth which was an adventure in itself!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margie1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    221
    57
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great gardens with amazing plants. The maze was fun and the private beach was quiet and secluded. The cafe did delicious scones, too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocolatecarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a National Trust member visited this garden recently but was disappointed. Some of the large shrubs seemed to be dying. Saving grace was the walled garden which was very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful sub-tropical garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We're National Trust members so sought out this place as it was near where we were staying. We spend a very pleasant couple of hours here strolling to the beach at the bottom of the garden and back up again. The garden appears small but takes a while to get round, is full of plants and trees from various corners of the world and the laurel maze was good fun. The paths are a bit steep in places so maybe a bit of challenge for a pushchair, though some people had them. We opted for a backpack carrier for our 9-month old.

Stopped off for lunch in the cafe, which was enjoyable and reasonable value for money. Baby-changing facilities very good - not associated with the ladies' loos so Dad got sent!

Overall, we saw the whole garden in the couple of hours we were there so a return trip would be more of the same rather than to explore more. But that isn't to Glendurgan's detriment at all. This is a little gem and one to which we will be happy to return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited on a lovely sunny day the first experience you have is he wonderful greeting received by the gate man giving you lots of vital information with a cheery smile. So so much to see and take in it was just wonderful and to walk to the bottom of the gardens and find the little village and cove was a joy so quaint,quiet and a delight to find and have visited. The maze well what can be said about it just A-MAZE-ING great experience for both adults and children. Needs more than one visit to take every thing in will be on the list next time we visit Cornwall.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank boydy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendurgan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Glendurgan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing