We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly welcoming service and fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
sunny cornwall
1 review
“Great food, friendly welcoming service and fantastic location”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We haven't been to the Trengilly for a few years, so it was nice to go there again and see that the service, choice and most importantly the atmosphere hasn't changed from what we remember from our previous visits.
This is a good honest tradational family pub with a great selection of beer / ale and an even better selection of food, which every time I've had it has been cooked, presented and delivered perfectly.
I would and I do whole heartedly recommend Trengilly to anyone who is looking for a night of good food and drink in a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tresooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    67
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
161
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

You have to see past the getting there and beyond the lack luster rooms and enjoy the hospitality of Lisa and Will. The rooms are a little tired and could do with updating. The shower in our room didn't work and the room was on the small side but had everything you could want.

The food here was some of the best we had, most main meals around £10.00 and loads of fresh fish. Breakfast was great and the sausages some of the best I have ever tasted.

We were made to feel very welcome and there was pleanty of info about what to do around the hotel e.g walks etc We took our springer and he was also made welcome with water provided.

Cornwall is one of the best places we have been to for being made welcome and most places are happy to except a well behaved dog.

Great trip and will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We staid for one night, wished it was more, and will definately stay again. Beautiful surroundings, with acres of grounds to wander around and explore, including a superb lake. Our room was really good (room 3), large enough and very comfortable with a large bathroom. The evening meal we chose was superb, and my full Cornish breakfast was the same! Wine, beer and spirits all well kept and a great choice available. The owners (and all the staff) were excellent, very friendly and welcoming, they are running a lovely pub / restaurant / place to stay. It was quite apparent that everyone was happy working there - a very good sign.
We totally agree with all the awards and high praise this pub/hotel has received, they should get more!
Definately a strong recommendation from us, and not a bad price either!.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamsterramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwickshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Our stay at Trengilly Wartha was exactly what we’d hoped for. It is not super luxurious. Rather it is very simple, very peaceful and well run by competent, pleasant staff. Our room was basic but comfortable with a view over the inn’s lake. The location is as isolated as we could have wanted – we had to drive for some distance along a series of very narrow, winding roads to get there – and the setting in a beautiful garden (with lake, and chickens) is unbelievably charming. All the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. We dined at the inn most nights and the food was simply very good pub food; well prepared local ingredients. The portions are very large (perhaps too large). Their selection of beers, cider and especially whisky is excellent. Our breakfasts were as good as we’ve ever had in a pub or hotel. On our final day we had to leave early and they opened the kitchen early for us, which was very thoughtful. The location near Falmouth is good for exploring all of Cornwall. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodandwhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed here on a 2-night short break with vouchers saved from a newspaper which gave us a half-price deal. Owners and everyone who worked there were friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful. Service and food were faultless. Room was spacious and clean. The whole atmosphere was lively and convivial. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbinsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed here because we initially found the pub via the Michelin 'Eating Out in Pubs' guide (2008 edition) , then looked it up on this web site. The room we stayed in was a little tired and in need of refurbishment, especially the bathroom. Note: The owners said that this room was due for update later this year. However, the room was clean and comfortable and was a good base for our short touring holiday in the south west of Cornwall. The meals and service in the pub bar were excellent on all the four nights that we stayed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were also of a high standard although perhaps not as good as advertised as the '2nd best in British pubs'! Overall an enjoyable stay, but they do need to update the rooms and also the entrance area which we found to be depressing on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We chose Trengilly Wartha as the mid-point of a 3-centre exploration of Cornwall and are certainly glad we did. It is ideally peacefully set [amidst abundant vegetation] in the middle of nowhere, yet seems to be the nerve-centre of so many local social events – cricketers were in evidence on both nights of our stay.

Will Lea runs a tight ship of some 25 staff, yet from a vantage point of relaxed, polo-shirted informality, smilingly efficient whether behind the office computer or pulling pints at the bar.
This seems to filter through to his staff who all sing from the same hymn-sheet in terms of total helpfulness and charm. We can’t recall any other restaurant where showing an interest in a possible range of wines for dinner led to helpful samples of the front-runners.
The food was super – and plentiful, breakfast removing the necessity for lunch!

One merely wished that tempting dishes advertised on the blackboard for both nights didn’t then have “sold out” showing over that period. The menu is, nonetheless, wide and mouth-watering, with an option to eat either in the bar or in the cosy “Bistro” at only a small mark-up for the latter. A more substantial dining area is now used just as a breakfast room.

In one small way this had its downside as the said bistro seems to have emerged from what once was a residents sitting room and we did actually miss somewhere to relax with comfy seating, as our own room was small and not a place to dwell beyond the purposes of sleeping and ablution. In fact, enquiries revealed that the bedrooms themselves are undergoing renovation on a rota basis – not before time, judging by the one that we had, whose bathroom was basic in the extreme and distinctly lino-clad yesteryear.

Our advice would be to enquire which rooms are of the “newer” type [e.g. the annexe] and aim to occupy one of those.

This achieved, it would be hard to imagine a nicer place to stay, as regards setting, cuisine and a real home-from-home feeling, combining personal service with the chance to be truly amidst a cheerful local community.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grynteighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
5.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,086 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 23 in Falmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trengilly Wartha Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trengilly Wartha Country Inn

Property: Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Address: Nancenoy, Constantine, Falmouth TR11 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trengilly Wartha Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Trengilly Wartha Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trengilly Wartha Country Hotel Falmouth
Country Inn Falmouth
Falmouth Country Inn
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing