We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A lovely relaxing place to stay. Ideal for those wanting a complete break as Trengilly is hidden away from the crowds yet is within easy reach of beaches etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is great ( especially breakfast) and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We didn't take our lab but the Inn is dog friendly and there are fantastic grounds to walk/ exercise.
We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The Inn is very old and has been adapted/ extended over the years. The walls are very thick and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    67
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
161
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Given the choice, I will always beat a path to the Trengilly when I'm in Cornwall. The welcome is always warm and friendly, the rooms clean and pleasant to stay in and the food is simply excellent - try their full Cornish breakfast and you will know what I mean! Agreed it is off the beaten track but, rather selfishly, I like it that way as makes it one of Cornwall's best kept secrets. Nestling at the end of Polpenwith Creek, the little hamlet of Nencenoy is the picture post card of Cornwall and a joy in itself. For me the Trengilly is the place to stay when visiting the beautiful Helford River. A brisk walk from the pub and you are at Scott's Quay, a short drive and you will find the Ferry Boat Inn from where you can take a passenger ferry to the quaint Helford Village and a number of lovely walks beyond. My particular favourite takes in Manaccan, Gillan Creek and St Anthony before returning down the coastal path to Helford for well earned cup of tea at the Riverside Café or a pint of Doombar at the Shipwrights Arms (the latter being my particular preference!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenH100364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lovely relaxing place to stay.

Put simply
1. Food is better than good and there is a varied choice, especially of local fayre.
2. Rooms are clean and tidy.
3. All the Staff make an effort to make one feel at home.
4. It is so quiet.

A good place to use as a base, as when you get back, after a hard day sightseeing (or exerting yourself walking or other outdoor pursuits) you know the food will surprise you both with regard to both the quality and the depth of choice.

Very good breakfasts too!

Room Tip: Read the directions very carefully, there is an easy way to find this and a hard way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I always enjoy stopping by at the Trengilly when I am in Cornwall. A really nice pub and location, excellent food, friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Good beer. If you are in the area then I would urge you to visit, it's worth going off the beaten track for.

(I have somewhat childishly knocked off one star from this review for the slightly touchy, insecure response by management to the perfectly-reasonable review below mine. The Trengilly isn't in Falmouth, and can be hard to locate at first: that's not a criticism, just a fact. And if you want to make some sort of statement by not having wifi then that is perfectly fine by me. But don't be surprised when someone else calls you out on it).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just the place to go to get away from it all!
It has the best of both worlds - friendly staff and a buzzing bar so a happy atmosphere, and then - after the most delicious dinner - a walk through the garden and down by the lake in the moonlight is just a magical end to a happy evening.
When you wake up in the morning all you hear is birdsong and then you are treated to the most delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekender787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Firstly FYI this is not in Falmouth - quite a windy narrow drive out of Falmouth. I was aware of this when booking but its more of a destination place to stay.

Pros
- Food is awesome, everything we had at the bar for dinner was great and the included Full Cornish Breakfast cooked a la carte was awesome
- Drinks selection and service also great, loads of atmosphere in the pub, good Scotch collection
- Pub and hotel is dog friendly
- Nice and cosy with only a handful of rooms
- Good staff
- Ample parking

Neutral
- Location is remote so nice and peaceful but quite out of any main town centres and can be a bit hard to locate
- Could hear the pub noise in the room. Some guys were playing guitar so quite nice actually. Quiet by late.

Cons
- No shower in the room, only a bath. Yes there was a shower head but hand-held only and no curtain.
- Rooms a little tired, no desk or chair to work on
- WiFi wouldn't work

Pro Tip
- SatNav is not your friend down these parts as it will take you down tiny narrow country lanes instead of main roads. Ask at the hotel for directions.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for rooms not above the bar if you prefer peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trengilly, Owner at Trengilly Wartha Country Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are refurbishing rooms constantly, and we are a country pub hence the title, Wifi is available in lots of rooms but not all as we deliberately keep our bar free of wifi so people use the oldest social network known to man the pub. We do get annoyed when people describe us as out of the way when we advertise ourselves as a country pub. Sat nav works to get you here but it brings you down some narrow lanes. we have rooms with bath, rooms with showers and rooms with both,
We love the Trengilly and we hope you will to
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We needed somewhere to eat that accepted dogs. We were staying 5 miles away and after a tricky journey through tight lanes to get there we were amazed to see how full the car park was for such a remote pub. The staff were very friendly, efficient and welcoming and food was really good. Our dog is big but all the staff fussed over him and lots of other diners had dogs with them also so we didn't feel awkward at all (as we had the night before elsewhere). Overall a lovely relaxed evening that ended with some live music from local musicians. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Only ate there didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisajm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
5.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,086 reviews
5.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 23 in Falmouth
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 23 in Falmouth
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trengilly Wartha Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trengilly Wartha Country Inn

Property: Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
Address: Nancenoy, Constantine, Falmouth TR11 5RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trengilly Wartha Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trengilly Wartha Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trengilly Wartha Country Hotel Falmouth
Country Inn Falmouth
Falmouth Country Inn
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing