We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meudon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$237
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merchants Manor(Falmouth)
$161
$135
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$250
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
181
58
18
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
58
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsub tropical gardensbreamsecluded covestunning gardenstree fernscoastal pathcream teafudgelovely hotelwine listdog friendly hotellovely beachcountry hotelcomfortable bedon arrivalrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 263 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at this beautiful hotel (a return visit) and as before found it to be the most wonderful hotel. There have been changes in that the owner, Mr Harry Pilgrim and his son Mark are stepping back from day to day management allowing Mark's sister Gay to take over generally and ring some changes. Firstly, there is now in place a programme of discreet rolling improvements and we were delighted to be upgraded (thankyou, again) to the first of these gorgeous refurbished rooms - a suite of 2 large rooms with balcony- decorated in contemporary style in cool, coastal colours. Calm, understated fabrics and comfortable, quality furnishings made this suite such a good place to be that we abandoned plans to rush around the county and basically just sat around chilling out and taking in the stunning views from the balcony. The hotel is set in a lush 8 acres of sub tropical gardens sweeping down to a private cove and the garden a destination in itself, rivalling any of the more famous Cornish gardens. The beach, with crystal clear water, is almost exclusively used by guests of the hotel and walkers. It's possible to do absolutely nothing here or absolutely everything - from walking, swimming, cycling, driving or visiting attractions.The beds here are wonderfully comfortable (I have rheumatoid arthritis and inspite of this I always sleep really well here - unlike many hotel beds which are a torment to me) and the cleanliness is second to none. The food has always been superb here but now there is more emphasis on modern presentation. Some of the desserts were quite technically brilliant - blueberry jelly on pannacotta for example, as well as other old favourites with delicious new twists. The chef strives to offer as much locally sourced produce as possible and the fish and seafood are sublime. As a journalist I have stayed in many, many hotels over the years but the levels of service here match the very best anywhere. The staff are a dream team - professional, courteous and incredibly hardworking people, many of whom have been here for years. We met many returning guests from Europe as well as UK regulars. Many of the older guests appreciate the English country house style. However, a new generation of younger couples and families are now discovering Meudon Hotel and I feel they will greatly appreciate the more contemporary rooms as well as the service levels and standards of food here which are often lacking in chain hotels. The gardens and safe, sandy cove are a paradise for young and old. Walkers can arrive, hide the car keys and set off from the garden straight onto the coast path. We spent hours just sitting in the gardens reading the papers over morning coffee and afternoon tea. Guests are greeted warmly and looked after for the duration of their stay with genuine care and courtesy. We only spent 3 days here but felt we had been away for a fortnight and returned to work feeling incredibly well rested and restored. We can't wait to return for one of the sailing breaks which the hotel organises. There are many other plans which Gay (a human dynamo!) has in store for the hotel. There is an exciting buzz of change here but all the important things remain the same - excellent service levels, superb food, comfort, peace and quiet. And of course, the location is breathtakingly beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here a week with my wife her parents and our 5 year old son. Everything was just superb from Gaye taking my booking to checking out with Rita at reception The best real Cornish breakfast all locally sourced, Dinner after a day sailing on the helford was also excellent. This is a must stay if you love peacefull Cornwall and the North Helford River it has so much to offer Pubs Resteraunts Coves If your looking for bouncy castles happy hour etc Try Newquay or St Ives iam sure you will love it and they will love you !

Room Tip: Try Trengilly wartha 5 mile drive to a country pub or the Cadgewith inn on the lizzard. trebah Gardens Glendurgen Gardens and lots more I've probberbly Forgoten !
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rossocorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night booked at last minute. There is no doubt there are better deals and more comfortable hotels in the Falmouth area. However, after carefully negotiation a death trap road I found the hotel. If you dont have car forget it a bus only goes past twice a day. The car park needs careful selection to avoid vehicles backing into one and another as the room is tight. The entrance to the hotel falls steeply at the front, not good for the elderly or infirm. Emma on the reception was a delight and an asset to any business and was the helpful barman. I am not sure this hotel knows what it is supposed to be, a strange mixture of old and new, out dated and modern in places. The hotel has massive potential but lacks real investment to bring it to 2012 expectations yet it is charging 2012 prices. The pokey little bar lacks charm and looks out to the side of the hotel and a short cut to a service area. No draught beers on tap, local bottled beers and guinness etc.
The restaurant with a well worn brown patterned carpet, local stone pillars with the worst dusty lamps screwed in and bare white exposed cable looks cheap and not very cheerful. The net white fly and blue bottle ridden curtain could do with taking down and cleaning and could the 1970's double glazed windows. The food whilst acceptable was not stunning and could easily be avoided for a better choice elsewhere, breakfast however was far nicer and freshly cooked. The hotel room had an extremly comfortable bed and the bathroom was spotless and everything worked fine. I was shown a make over suite which had been remodeled by Alex from the "Hotel Inspector" series to be shown in Aug 12. What a difference it was lovely, simple, plain but inspiring and comfortable the chintz had been burnt on the fire. Stunning gardens which lead down to the beach the best feature of the place. Not a sole except me under 65 staying there and many seem to return so they just dont notice that it will die unless the management wake up, refurbish, invest and it could be a 5 star delight.

Room Tip: Get the suite which has been refurbished or the one other room refurbished by the hotel, otherwise you are in a time warp
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week while on business Great comfortable bed.Good food and very welcoming
staff nothing was a problem.For somewhere to stay that's nice and quiet this is the place to stay in Falmouth.Great gardens.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
15  Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the last few years and for my money this is one of the best hotels in the Falmouth area [biased hotel guides and inspectors notwithstanding]. It is set in a scaled down version of the Trebah or Trelissick gardens; service and atmosphere excellent and food superior to any nearby competitors boasting 2 AA rosettes. The quiet relaxation at this family-owned country hotel is marvellous.

It does not boast a swimming pool or ballroom or spa/gym [the apparent criteria for 4 stars] but it has its own private beach on Falmouth Bay and the walk through the sub-tropical gardens is ample opportunity for exercise. The hotel also has its own private yacht with skipper for hire.

Front of house management is very welcoming and efficient.

The restaurant is at its best with locally-sourced fresh fish dishes that have nearly always a slightly different twist to their presentation since our last visit. The talented young pastry chef is a gem - always devising novel, delicious desserts.

There is nothing stuffy here, with pleasant and efficient young waiters and waitresses joining the team from time to time.

Room comfort and cleanliness is impeccable.

Whilst the accomodation was built in the late 1960s, there has always been a rolling programme of updates and refurbishment , including the latest flat-screen TVs and wifi throughout, but now the hotel has started a rolling make-over of rooms that bodes well for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TKS26-06-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews