We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet charm”
Review of Meudon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meudon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Meudon spanning many years. We found the same excellent attention to service, cleanliness and welcome. The food is outstanding - beautifully prepared fish and desserts particularly good. The hotel is now somewhat dated as regards decor but everything is well maintained and very clean. The staff are very professional, friendly and most welcoming. The gardens were a delight as ever - a perfect setting for a relaxing short break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianaofdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband, father-in-law and I have just returned from a very pleasant time at the Meudon.
We have rarely found such welcoming and helpful staff as at this hotel, especially Emma and Rita on reception and Dave in the bar, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is set in glorious gardens which have a (slightly steep) but very interesting path leading down to a small cove with views across the bay to Falmouth. My husband and I had the ground floor suite which was very comfortable although it does need updating - old dark brown furniture - and the sitting room is rather dark having lost the sun by late morning. Also, I can't understand why anyone would put heavy full length curtains in front of all the radiators so our room was rather chilly in the morning. I resorted to lifting the curtains to lay along the top of the radiators which prompted the housekeeper to put a convector heater in the bedroom which made it lovely and toasty and really was a dreadful example of bad planning. My father-in-law was right next door in a lovely, sunny, double bedded en-suite room. Again, rather outdated dark brown furniture but comfortable. One thing definitely going for it is that every bedroom has a view of the wonderful gardens. Unfortunately the bed linen and pillows could do with upgrading. We had sheets and blankets and rather hard pillows. My husband and I used to fight over the only soft(ish) pillow every night and even though the housekeeping staff provided us with more, they were all pretty hard. Please Mark get some decent pillows and duvets. The restaurant is very pleasant, again with large full length windows looking out on to the gardens. We enjoyed the food very much - nothing pretentious but a good menu and all well cooked and piping hot . Mark, the MD and son of the owner was often to be found around the hotel and he keeps a good cellar! I would say the average age of the guests at Meudon was 70. All in all a very nice place to pass a few days in, we shall definitely go back and would recommend it for anyone who wants a peaceful and relaxing holiday experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SouthBucksBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very cold in the night,silly electric heater put in the room.showers didn't work when when got there ,so we we're late for our party.the room was clean but very old.the bedding was ancient..the staff were nice but it doesn't make up for a disappointing stay.overpriced

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AdamWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We visit the Meudon for lunch 2 or 3 times per year - including Christmas Day. The staff are always very helpful polite. The food is of very food quality and in the main cooked well. Before you start your meal you are escorted to a luxury room to have pre dinner drinks and home made crisps. In the Summer months after we finish our meal we have our coffee out in the superb garden. You can follow the garden down the hill it takes you to a secluded beach - the gardens are extremely well planted - offering a wonderful after lunch walk. You can take dogs to the Meudon grounds and finish off in the bridge room which we have done before and had afternoon tea.The decor is not modern but never the less it is all very comfortable. We will continue to visit The Meudon on our special occasions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Sometimes I wonder if reviewers have stayed at the same hotel as my wife and myself - true, we found it in need of a little modernisation, but the welcome, the friendly service, the beautifully comfortable Vi Spring beds, the excellent food, the beautifully situated restaurant, and those exquisite gardens - it all added up to a lovely, relaxing holiday.
We had noted that some guests had referred to the maturity of many of the visitors; in some ways this was a +++ point, for some that we met had been coming every year for over twenty years. Although "first timers", we did not observe any preferential treatment to
"old timers"; the service was impeccable, polite, friendly, and competent. I had fish almost every day; and each time it was fresh, beautifully cooked, and well presented.
Our room was restrained but comfortable, with the benefit of a large sitting room, and a patio with views over the extensive gardens. I would have preferred a walk in shower rather than the rather narrow bathtub with shower over; and yes, the bed was turned down every night, the curtains drawn, and a welcoming light left on. The extensive gardens are set in a valley which goes right down to a small sandy beach; they consist of a wide variety of trees and tree ferns, rhodedendrons and camellias, ponds and bog garden, flower beds, rockeries, and peacocks. Altogether a most welcoming place to stay, and only four hours fast driving to get there! Methinks we shall be back!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cardiffbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I recently dined at the Meudon with my partner and friends. The whole evening was just perfect for a special occasion from the beautifully presented hors-d'oevres served with drinks in the lounge while we chose from the menu to coffee and petit fours served after our meal.
There was plenty to choose from the menu and the food was beautifully cooked and presented.
The resteraunt overlooked the fabulous gardens with a view down to the sea. Such a perfect location!
The kitchen and waiting staff provided excellent service.
Fantastic food in a beautiful location, I would highly reccommend visiting for a meal here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 186337Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed in the Cottage in the grounds which is self-catering alongside the hotel. Wonderful location with one of the best gardens in Cornwall just outside our front door and beautiful path down to the sea and the Cornish Coastal footpath. Great location for working and leisure. Thanks to all the very friendly staff who made our second visit to the hotel and cottage such a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
3.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
313 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meudon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meudon Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $132 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meudon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meudon Hotel at Bream cove Cornwall's Garden Hotel and Beach. A unique blend of country manor, sub-tropical gardens of eight and a half acres, with paths leading down to your own private cove. Discover the magic of Meudon you will experience a unique and special setting where you can relax, unwind and restore.Relaxed and unobtrusive service, a family run home with a very friendly team. Great food, excellent location, newly refurbished, all round excellent value for money. Enjoy a stay in our Cornish country manor and feel spoilt. Meudon will be hard to beat on service, location and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Meudon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meudon Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing