We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Palace”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Its not just a hotel but a fairytale palace! We loved it from the start to the end of the stay, made our short trip to Cornwall perfect. The hotel beautifully sits just mins away from the Falmouth centre and the sea, also provides easy access in/out the town for visiting local attractions and Cornwall. Our romantic bedroom is red themed with vintage style, the lounge and restaurant have just been refurbish with modern design, sea view restaurant accompanied with high quality food is one of the highlights of our stay, last but not least, morning walk in the garden is our favourite moment. Every staff there is wonderful and pleasant to chat with, big thank you for making our journey so special!.... We highly recommend the Merchants Manor to anyone who wants to make a trip to Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluehumor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 602 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent the weekend there attending a wedding, staff were friendly and attentive, made to feel welcome from the start. Food was good, and hot food was on hot plates. Rooms were clean, comfortable and everything worked. Would I return, yes, without a doubt. Re the comment by amsam about lacking excitement, its a hotel, it dosent provide entertatainment, but I suppose the staff could have performed a song and dance

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrim43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our wedding event here could not have gone better - it was superbly co-ordinated by their events manager and all their staff were exceptionally efficient and well trained. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and facilities excellent. The food is superb- excellent quality and so efficiently presented by the staff.
Our only complaint of the whole weekend was the under-staffed bar which often led to people cuing and waiting and one miserable waitress at Sunday morning breakfast, but otherwise the whole event was faultless...and we are fussy!
We cannot recommend this venue highly enough, having frequently visited it before this recent change of owners, I think it has improved hugely from then and we will certainly frequent it in the future. A huge thank you to our wedding co-ordinator, the owners and all the staff for making our wedding event one we will never forget!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is a good clean B&B but it lacks the ambiance to stand out. The rooms are basic. The bed was comfortable and the room a reasonable size, however you heard the water running through the pipes from the neighboring rooms and the rooms above. The hotel has a swimming pool that is utilised by external hotel guests, the constant flow of people in the hallway going to and from the pool area was a constant disturbance to our room during the afternoon.

The room had no view or outlook and the room rate was a little on the high side but the inclusion of dinner and breakfast made it a reasonable offering. It is clean and in a good state of repair.

We had dinner at the hotel, it was ok. I will not praise the offering nor can I fault it but it just didn't excite. the service was very good though. Breakfast was much the same, it was a meal with the usual selections but it just lacked the added factors that make it a standout.

The onsite parking is a big plus and the public rooms added a pleasant touch to the stay.

As a hotel for the night it served it's purpose. I would rate this hotel for an overnight stay whilst touring the area but I don't think I could stay several nights as the hotel just lacked any excitement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The original house's ground floor reception room are lovely - great high ceilings and tasteful decor.- and for breakfast the views from the conservatory overlook the sea. There is a lovely garden area - (shame you cant access from the conservatory to take tea outside after breakfast though) Breakfasts are decent - cooked to order, and selection of cereals, fresh yogurts etc, but scrambled egg was a bit omlette like. The staff are very friendly and helpful, for example when our kettle in the room wouldn't work they sent up a tea tray within 5 mins.The room (Comfy King) was large but the F&F were pretty dated, all 80's light faux pine, but plenty of storage space and nice bathroom & toiletries. There is a good sized indoor pool but you need to take a towel from your room. Didn't use gym!. The hotel is dog friendly but charges £12 / night which i think is a bit steep. Also the nearest beach - Swanpool is a No Dogs one. Overall though i would recommend this hotel if staying in Falmouth, as a good mid priced option.

Room Tip: The Comfy king rooms are large but the bed is two singles together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and staged our wedding there (30th May 2013). The facilities were great, the rooms large and the location an easy 10 minute walk from the centre of Falmouth (not so easy walking home uphill though!). The gardens were stunning and there is a decent sized pool.

Nikki, the hotel manager, looked after us during our whole stay and played a big part in making it a great success. She and the rest of the staff we met were really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend here for a short break or for a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJAnTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is more than the advertised ‘stroll’ to Falmouth centre. Public lounges are freshly decorated and particularly lovely. But our stay was marred when for two mornings we couldn’t have breakfast in the conservatory as the tables were being laid for lunch and we were made to eat in the dark dining room (chocolate brown walls are probably very nice for romantic dinner). Staff were not willing to relay conservatory tables for breakfast even though this was what most guests down after 8.30am wanted (breakfast was until 10am, so we weren’t exactly late) They ran out of marmalade on the third morning. The staff were process rather than customer focussed (although miraculously when The Boss was there on third morning, the attitude changed). Hotel is more than what I think of as a ‘’stroll’ to Falmouth centre). Bed was very comfortable, the shower pathetic. And for £120 - £150 a night I would like a fridge in my room. Credit card charge levied. Didn't use the swimming pool, so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: 'Comfy' rooms OK, don't waste money on Old House Master Room - really not worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $113 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing