We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights while attending my husband's son's wedding which was held at the hotel. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff who could not do enough for you, pleasant room with a balcony, great food, one of the best hotels we've stayed in for a long time! We wished the stay was longer - sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Merchants Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 574 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently my wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was pleasant,our room was excellent and the staff and service were of the highest quality. We found that the overall environment was extremely "homey" and restful.A major contributor to this atmosphere are the beautiful gardens next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Make certain you go to the gardens to relax--to read and to enjoy a glass of wine.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank garth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had such a happy stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful gardens.


Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night whilst on a business trip. Arrived late and the reception staff were courtious and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable although I nearly broke my neck stmpbling down two steps that were just inside the room. The bulb in the hallway was not working so the light was poor.If you stay in room 17 just be aware. The staff were friendly and although in some areas the hotel looked a little tired it was comfortable.

Room Tip: Watch room 17, unless warned it is an accident waiting to happen
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and pleasant comments about the staff. However I do apologise for the lack of light in the hallway. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to Falmouth.



Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel has a number of rooms on ground floor level with the consequent lack of views and there was no lift to upper floors. The staff were not particularly friendly and were slow in serving meals. The choice at breakfast was limited and cooked breakfast had to be ordered and then waited for. When it eventually arrived it was tasty! Our room had a least two spiders and quite a number of small flies as residents. In fact when we first went in it felt as though the room had not been occupied for some time. The evening meal on arrival was of an unacceptable standard. We clearly second class guests as there was a wedding party at the hotel this particular evening. The meals were of a better standard on subsequent evenings. Overall we could not recommend this hotel to Tripadvisor Friends.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views providing you are prepared to carry your luggage upstairs
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. All feedback is important to us it helps us to improve our service and enhance the guest experience. The issues you raised have been addressed with the appropriate departments. I apologise again for the nuisances of your stay and do hope we can welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

my son and daughter in law chose this venue for his wedding in june, it was perfect. the hotel is lovely, neil and all the staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. it was a perfect day, the accomodation was excellent, the food marvelous. everyone stayed at the hotel and i didnt hear one negative coment. thanks again to neil and all the staff, we will be back for a stay soon (just the two of us this time!!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BristolCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Delightful comments, thank you very much I will pass on your praises to Neil and the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My son and daughter-in-law held their wedding reception at the Green Lawns on 8th September and it was a resounding success. The afternoon started with Pimm’s and canapés in the garden, followed by an excellent three course meal in the Trelawney Suite. Neil, the General Manager, took on the role of Master of Ceremonies and discreetly and professionally guided us through the formalities of the day. All of the staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful and ensured the day ran smoothly. We cannot thank everyone enough for making the day such a special one.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am delighted to read such a lovely review thank you very much, so glad you all enjoyed such a wonderful day and it all went so smoothly. Thank you again.

Kind regards
Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got married at Green Lawns just over a week ago and I can honestly say the staff at this hotel made our day perfect (especially Neil). The day ran like clock work because of these people and I cannot thank them enough. When booking our wedding here over a year ago on meeting Neil we knew it was the place for us. He really is a special man who deserves so much credit for the work he does. It really is a beautiful hotel ran by beautiful people who cannot do enough for you. The food is divine and as many of our friends and family that stayed said the rooms were great. We have said we will try to return to this hotel every wedding anniversary to hopefully see Neil and all the staff and witness once again all their hard work. Thank you doesn't seem enough to say to these people for our perfect wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

What an amazing review. I am so glad your wedding day was such a success and everything went perfectly. Hopefully we will see you next year on your first wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $126 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing