We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing”
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merchants Manor
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Greenlawns and again it was very relaxing, we stayed in one of the executive rooms which had sliding patio doors and a small veranda and the room was superb, lots of space very clean and comfortable. The Staff at the greenlawns go out of there way to makesure you have a great time, nothing is too much trouble and Neil the General manager is the perfect host always making time to chat and talk to guests ensuring everyone feels welcome and valued at the hotel. Breakfast is wholesome and hearty and sets you up for a day of exploring falmouth and the cornish coast.
If the weather is not so good you can spend time relaxing in the hotel pool and sauna or reading in one of the lounges

Room Tip: Even the standard room are of a good size, for a special treat try one of the newly refurbished suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lololois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Delighted to read your lovely review, thank you. So nice to hear such lovely comments we always hope that we give that extra special old fashioned service to all of our guests.

We will look forward to welcoming you back so you can relax and explore more of Cornwall.

KInd regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    122
    75
    34
    34
See reviews for
119
201
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely old Victorian property with modern rooms. The ones with sea views are fabulous - ask for 214 and you will get not only a great view but a small balcony too. Nice lounge area and gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel - 214 double room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
What a lovely review thank you. So glad you enjoyed the garden, it is really lovely at this time of the year.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here over the Jubilee weekend with my boyfriend and our baby. We were in Falmouth for a wedding. Neil, the Manager of this hotel, is fantastic. He went out of his way to help all his guests and to ensure everybody was happy and having a pleasant stay. The rest of the staff are polite and helpful too.

The rooms were clean and had plenty of space for a weekend. There is a pool and small gym for guests to use also.

i would definitely stay here again if I visited Falmouth, it is close to everywhere that you need to go including beaches, the main street, pubs and the harbour.

The only down side was there was no lift so I couldn't get the pushchair upstairs easily but there was a cupboard I could leave it in in reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments I have passed them on to the team. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in the supierior room of this hotel for our first wedding anniversary. We found all the staff very welcoming and helpful and really made us feel at home. The room was lovely, although a little dated, it was clean and had superb sea views to wake up to with a balcony. The breakfast was brilliant, had a wide variety of choices. The leisure facilities were also very good. Would definatly stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: Definatly a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review and choosing the Green Lawns to celebrate your first wedding anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Choosing this hotel as our wedding venue was the best thing we could have done. The General Manager was phenomenal and helped us organise everything, right down to the smallest details. The guidance from the staff on the day took all the pressure off us and we were able to relax with our loved ones. Even the food was cooked to perfection, each meal hot and carefully plated. We will definitely be spending our anniversaries there. Amazing hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Esta

Thank you so much for posting your lovely review. I am so pleased your wedding day was such a success. We wish you and Daniel our congratulations and best wishes for the future and will look forward to seeing you next year on your first wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

A week spent in the Green Lawns on a business trip. The hotel is slightly dated but more than comfortable. Very well equipt rooms and a very comfy bed. Excellent breakfast served in the morning but a bit chaotic on one morning, too many guests and not enough staff. The views out to sea are great and the double aspect windows in the room allowed for plenty of views. Very friendly and proffesional staff

Room Tip: Sea views if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rattler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay at the hotel. I apologise for the problem you experienced at breakfast and can assure you this has been addressed.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.


Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here recently while on a road trip with my Dad. The lady behind reception on arrival was incredibly friendly and helpful and happy to give advice on the area and call for cabs.
The hotel was very clean and well presented including the well sized rooms. Breakfast was very pleasant and what I saw if the gym and pool facilities all looked very good. Even the wedding reception on the second night did not interrupt my sleep.
It is well located for pubs and restaurants without being in the middle of things.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,086 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 23 in Falmouth
337 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Property: Merchants Manor
Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchants Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing