We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmere Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never again!”
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Very faded bedroom number 44 - decor tired - I reckon from the style of wallpaper and curtains our room was decorated about 20 years ago - the redeaming item was the flatscreen TV though the battery running out. There were holes in the wall from the old TV stand were still there. Might have been nice to have at least been filled with polyfilla . We booked a double room and on arrival I imediately noticed the faded BLOODSTAINED bedspread!!! - they replaced it with a kingsize bedspread. The blind in the bedroom was broken, Tea/coffee in room okay but they left us a packet broken biscuits. Mould around the shower could be scraped away! The toilet pan had a crack in it. Grey grouting. Not great value for £108 b & b. A long way from the town - only stayed there one night thank goodness. Reception staff nice enough, breakfast was OK but not a patch on the £60 b & b in Melville Rd that we used in August though.
We stayed the weekend when the students moved down at the start of the academic year and the town was heaving. Hence only Penmere Manor had space - I WONDER WHY?? The outdoor pool had closed for the season - a shame as it was a baking hot weekend.
Plus point - my husband used the gym and he thought that good. Another + point it was very quiet.
We stayed in a Best Western in Ireland 2 years ago and it was fabulous - freshly decorated - shame the british equivalent didn't match up.
.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeofberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickemoore, Owner at Penmere Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
Having taken ownership of Penmere Manor Hotel some 15 months ago after 22 years in the trade, I was aware that considerable investment in refurbishment was required. Starting with the actual fabric of the building all metal windows were replaced and around 50% of the property was totally re-roofed. Public areas were redecorated including the Lounge, Dining Room and Bar and totally new kitchens were fitted. Gym equipment was replaced and a new Wi-Fi system installed. Moving onto the bedrooms, many of these have had new bathrooms fitted and redecorated. Unfortunately by early spring our busy season was upon us and it was not viable to continue to have work done on the inside of the property and disruption to the many guests. Refurbishment did continue outside, with the whole of the property being decorated. More recently 'Flat Screen' TV's have been installed with digital freeview to all of the bedrooms. Those rooms that have not been refurbished such as Room44 are scheduled to have new Bathrooms, Carpets, Soft Furnishings and decor through the Winter, we hope to complete this by April. Many of our regular guests have complimented us on the improvements and the AA has awarded us a 'Rosette' for fine food. We are striving to improve all of our services, committed to the continued investment in the property and the ehancement of customer experiences.







.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    119
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
68
101
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Poor standards for price even with discount!
Indoor swimming pool and sauna advertised not available.
Internet crashed during evening when needed. Staff said that server had crashed and they would reset...but they didn't.
Needed early breakfast but full breakfast not available until later. We were not informed of this.
Came back to room and upon switching on lights the electrics fused and had to wait a couple of hours before rectified...........Faulty Towers eat your heart out!!
Bitterley complained and was given excuses that it had just been taken over by new owners/management. No compensation offered other than a discounted price for a return visit......yeh ! as if I would entertain their facilities again !!
I just hope they have now improved their services for future guests.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaktech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Perfect Wedding Day was all we wanted for Rachael and Dan. At the Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth, Nick and all the staff helped us have just that.

The location may be away from Falmouth's much sought after beaches, but the room sizes and layout suited the party so well it was easy to believe we had the hotel to ourselves. Beautifully decorated, interconnecting rooms and bar allowed grandma to have a peaceful sit down whilst the Soul Survivor band rocked the room next door. The beautiful patio area allowed guests to cool down with a drink from the connecting bar whilst watching the moves on the dance floor.

The food at the wedding breakfast and supper was delicious, plentiful and beautifully presented and served. We were especially delighted.

From the first enquiry until the end of breakfast the next day Nick was fully involved and we had faultless attention and service from the hotel staff. All our requests were met with a polite reception and smiling helpfulness.

As the happy couple departed and the band packed away, we reflected on the day over a bottle of wine. Everyone agreed that the Penmere Manor Hotel had indeed enabled us to have the Perfect Wedding Day. We retired blissfully to our generously sized room - now cluttered with waistcoats, tiaras and flowers from the wedding party - content that there could not have been a better venue for a wedding in Falmouth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodnaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I have now stayed in two Best Westerns in Europe, and I definitely will not try a third time. This hotel was tired and outdated - with uncomfortable, springy-beds, dull-looking duvets and just blahs all around. The location is not particularly close to town, and the staff was not very overly helpful. I can find nothing to recommend about this place...except that it had wirelss internet and was very quiet, but perhaps that's because we seemed to be the only guests staying there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Spacious grounds and a large room although the bathroom needed updating.
Enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi and found the staff to be very friendly and attentive.
Thought the food a bit over priced so ate in the the bar which was fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I have been very impressed by this hotel, we stayed in one of the Garden rooms which are very spacious. We have a double bed, a single bed, a two seater sofa, a single matching chair, two desks, two wardrobes, two desks and a table. Flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a mini bar and air con. So a very large room by anyones standards. Bathroom has a bath, seperate shower, wc and two sinks, so again a well equiped facility.

The evening meal was fantastic, £25 each for a 5 course meal (including coffee) plus wine. Which for the quality of the food was not overly expensive. Piano whilst you eat your dinner is not to my personal taste, but some of the older guests seemed to enjoy it.

Outside the hotel grounds are extensive and very well maintained. The only food available during the day was bar food, and only until 2PM.

Another reviewer mentioned that the pool and leisure facilities were accessed through the bar, but this was not a big deal for us, and unless you plan getting into your swimming costume in your hotel room I don't know why anyone would have a problem with this, it's just the way the hotel has grown over the years.

The staff were all friendly and helpful, we were even told by one of the waitresses that if there was anything in particular we wanted to see on the menu during our stay we could put in a request to the kitchen.

Broadband was very slow, but that's hardly the hotels fault. I have a mobile broadband dongle which worked perfectly well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcblinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2009

first impressions were not good, reception was cold and dark so was the welcome. room was comfortable but looked like it had been serviced in a rush. then we went for dinner and our stay was lit up by the amazing welcome from the restaurant manager Richard, by far the best restaurant service and he was on his own, in fact he was one of the only members of staff we saw at every meal every day of his stay. he conducted an orderly friendly service shame he was working with some very unhelpful staff despite his best efforts to motivate them.... god help this hotel if they loose him and their chef, the food was out of this world everything from sea bream to kids chicken nuggets is prepared by hand filleted and breaded on the premises hats of to richard and the chef think the higher management need to catch up to their standards!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybunnyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,114 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
1,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,070 reviews
3.5 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 23 in Falmouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmere Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmere Manor Hotel

Property: Penmere Manor Hotel
Address: Mongleath Road, Falmouth TR11 4PN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the bustling, vibrant and cosmopolitan town of Falmouth lies the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor Hotel, situated in 4 acres of gardens and woodlands approximately 1 mile from the historic port of Falmouth, the BEST WESTERN Penmere Manor is an oasis of tranquillity and calm, a home away from home for many of our guests, who get away from it all for regular frequent visits. A charming manor house set amidst beautiful gardens, this Georgian house has been elegantly maintained to retain its charming elegance. The comfort of guests and feeling of welcome is paramount; the Moore family along with their friendly staff offer you a very warm welcome. Each of the 37 en suite bedrooms are well appointed, have free Wi-Fi, the latest flat screen digital TVs, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Penmere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth
Best Western Falmouth
Best Western Hotel Falmouth
Falmouth Best Western
Penmere Manor Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing