We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penmere Manor Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$236
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grove Hotel(Falmouth)
$133
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$127
$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trelawne Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
100
129
56
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
129
56
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate shower cubicleindoor poolsmall gymgarden roombit datedleisure facilitiesbar menubunk bedscomfortable sofashuge roomcoach partyon arrivalgreat facilitieslovely hotelwalk into towndressing tablewaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 319 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Took an overnight stop in falmouth with the dog after picking up a couple of kayaks locally for the summer..We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was airy and comfortable and had access to a small terrace., garden and wooded walks for Jack !..Service was great the food was good and the the spa invigorating..Well recommended . Might take a week later on in the year as this proved to be a nice relaxing stay..

Room Tip: Get a garden room..
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here 4 days in April on business and found it to be a very relaxing place. I had a large double room overlooking extensive grounds in the garden wing of the hotel.
The breakfast was not included but as always I upgraded, and although not exactly cheap, it was delicious, as was the bar food. I did not eat in the restaurant, but the food in the bar was a subset of the same menu so assume it was as good.
The fitness room is in need of a little updating, but the pool and jacuzzi are great.
I had a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and the room had a flat screen tv and tea and coffee facilities, as well as free wi-fi.
The location is quiet and good for commuting into both Truro centre (10 miles) and Falmouth (3 miles).

Room Tip: Garden wing if you can. Room 27 is enormous.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was here for 4 days for work. If I was on holiday, I probably would have switched hotels as there are some strange issues here.

First, the positive:
Cooked breakfast is ace, one of the best I have had in a hotel. Quite expensive, but on a work tab so ok.
Staff are friendly, efficient and pleasant.

Needs work:
Overall, everything in this hotel is faded, dated and creaky. There is a nice gym, but all the weights and machines are covered in rust! This could get dangerous.
The pool and jacuzzi are lovely, but the ceiling is mouldy and flaking and the windows are mouldy and streaky.
Room 28 where I stayed is depressingly dated, with olive green carpets, it's like something out of "rising damp!"
Lobby area: great for relaxing on the many couches, but there is a computer till in the corner which makes a horrendous whine constantly, and it cannot be switched off apparently? Why have a relaxing lobby area yet have this racket going? Sort it out!
Dance music playing in the breakfast room. Really? Think this was more for the staff as the clientele are mostly old people.

Overall, everything is kept very clean and the housekeeping do a great job, but this place really needs a cash injection.

If I had paid to stay here myself, I would be well annoyed!

Room Tip: AVOID room 28. It is dark, depressing and above the kitchen which you can hear late at night and early morning. Lame!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We decided to spend our 41st wedding anniversary at the Penmere Manor as this was the closest Best Western Hotel locally. We wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful with nice gardens and good facilities.A very pleasant young lady greeted us on arrival and explained all the usual information we were allocated room 24 with a garden view. The room was spotless but the decor was a little tired/outdated, the room benefited from a settee and arm chair which was ideal as I had ordered Champagne in our room for our arrival , so we were able to enjoy a glass of bubbly in comfort. We enjoyed a pleasant dining experience in the evening with good food and wine , the staff were very pleasant and polite and we would stay here again.Overall our stay was good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room as our had a settee and arm chair lovely to be able to relax in the room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been staying at Penmere Manor regularly for a few years now and have always enjoyed the facilities it has to offer. Our most recent visit during early March was no exception but it is becoming clear that it is starting to creak around the edges a bit. The main building has some wonderful original features and the lounge area is full of comfortable sofas, and armchairs. But alas wear and tear on the fixtures and fittings is beginning to show in many of the other areas. It would be churlish to nitpick everything that needs attention since most guests staying for just one night would probably not have the time or inclination notice them; but be assured they are many and varied!
If you like space it would be prudent to opt for the extra expense of a garden room which have small a sofa and armchair plus fridge and trouser press.
Regardless of any shortfalls that were evident on previous visits the hotel's one saving grace was the restaurant food which hitherto has always been excellent. However recent changes to the menu have, in our opinion, been to the detriment of what is on offer which certainly had a material effect on our visit this time. To be fair the staff did their level best to accommodate our wishes but even so the restaurant is just not the same pleasurable experience that it was. We hope that this is only a temporary blip because the restaurant food was always our main reason for visiting the hotel. Nevertheless the bar food is well presented and offers a good selection at reasonable prices.

Finally must not forget the staff who are very pleasant and always willing to help where they can.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and opt for a garden room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews