We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Half term break”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during feb half term week. The hotel is being updated but workmen were very considerate and discreet. The room and facilities were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were superb. The hotel is ideally located with lovely views and walks. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessbrookDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    374
    161
    96
    45
See reviews for
260
628
65
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Set right across the road from Gyllyngvase beach and close to the South West coastal path, the position couldn't be better. The food could have been better, on our first visit in 2009: this year, on second visit, it was as good as anywhere in Falmouth. Great break fasts and attentive, friendly staff. The big BUT...bedroom walls are so thin that they not only transmitted sound but, we were convinced, actually amplified it. Take your ear plugs and/or sleeping pills! Slightly pricey, but frequent special offers make it reasonable value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrontister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Fairly pleasant hotel,if somewhat overpriced.Very inviting pool with superb views.The wafer thin walls between rooms leave little to the imagination,take earplugs!.The breakfast buffet was a very disorganised muddling affair.In fact Im still waiting for my pot of tea!.Major refurbishment is evident and may be partly to blame.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I was a little concerned after reading the reviews on here, however we had a fabulous deal (£120 for 2 people for 2 nights DBB in superior room). This was of course because of the renovation work, which we knew was happening when we booked. If we hadn't been told I would have been disappointed to find out on arrival, however it didn't really impact much on our stay.
The room was clean and comtemporary with a lovely bathroom and nice seaview. We really enjoyed the quality of the food and found no problems. The staff were all very friendly. Admittedly the service was more chaotic when we turned up during the last half hour of Sunday breakfast, but it certainly wasn't that bad. The swimming pool was relaxing - we were luckly and turned up at a very quiet time (late afternoon Saturday).
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for the price we paid!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance, cornwall
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2010

although the hotel in general was pleasant & the desk staff friendly, i was amazed to see the amount of dust webs on our ceiling in the room. the food was of outstanding quality & very well presented but the service left alot to be desired, we had been seated for 25mins before we had to call for our drinks order to be taken & a further 15mins to ask for bread at our table. we were given a free drink at the bar as a way of an apology but it did little to impress us! we shall not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan1975
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This is suppose to be a 4 star hotel, but it is more like a 2 star! The jacuzzi didnt work and the room we stayed in stank of paint, but worst still was when the waiter filled our water jug up with ice and used his hands instead of a scoop. You would think that was bad enough? But when we received the water it had paint shavings swirling around in side. We also had dirty cutlery on our table, complained to the manager but he still charged us the full amount for dinner and gave a very weak sorry.
The place was under renovation and my partner was unable to book spa treatments there. The only good thing was the food, but bewarn you might get extra!.

Verdict = AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days after New Year. We were going for relaxation having hosted a big family Xmas and given that the offer was £199 per person B and B, I was intially suspicious as to the quality of the hotel. We were delighted when we arrived. The decor is light, modern and has a seaside feel. We werent aware that the builders were going to be in but given the price that we paid, we were not bothered. Also, we spent very little time in the hotel during the day and builders had gone by the time we came back. The staff were very very friendly and I simply do not understand the previous comments about them being rude. Admittedly, service is sketchy, particular the first morning at breakfast which was bad to the point of farce but the breakfast room was full and thereafter the service was better. Breakfasts are generous with a hot buffet and additional freshly cooked choices at no extra charge including the best piece of smoked haddock I have eaten in a very long while. We actually upgraded our room to a garden room which had French doors onto its own little terrace, lovely in the summer. The room was large and clean and the bed very comfortable - except the pillows which were flat and awful! The decor is minimalist and if I have a complaint it would be that the sitting area, whilst probably lovely in the summer with its huge windows and marvellous views of the sea, was too large, brightly lit and impersonal to be cosy enough to curl up in on a winters evening. We only ate in the restaurant once and found the food to be fine (my scallops were perfectly cooked) and the price average for a hotel. Drinks are well-priced. The spa uses Espa products and my facial was expertly done although I do wish Espa consultants wouldnt do the hard-sell bit immediately after delivering the treatment (they all do it) and WOULD SOMEBODY PLEASE CHANGE THE MUSIC FROM ENYA!!!!!! We would stay here again without hesitation and look forward to seeing the hotel once the changes have been made.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank max13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,076 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 23 in Falmouth
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
176 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing