We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the room and hotel, shame about restaurant and bar staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the room and hotel, shame about restaurant and bar staff!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Booked the hotel with family, travelled with children. The reception staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, very attentive. The family room was fantastic, very spacious and immaculately clean with lots of space for kids to play in. We used the pool and facilities which was lovely too. Major problem with hotel was the bar and restaurant staff were not very helpful and welcoming, had to ask for basic things and then remind after asking!!! We were even told couldnt have more bread as NOT ENOUGH!!! The bar staff were exceptionally slow and the bar was very often unattended, this is such a shame as the rest of the hotel was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    372
    160
    95
    45
See reviews for
256
627
65
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed here for my wife's big birthday treat. Had a pokey little room with no view. Outrageously priced at £197 per night for the two of us. Annoying people with spoilt brat in the lounge. Food was pretty good as was the service.
We'd been before for meals but will never set foot in the place again having been disgracefully ripped off!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbinsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Friendly staff, exceptionally clean, food exceeded expectations. View from restaurant best ever. Pool and spa area brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I am confused by some of the negative reviews of St Michaels. This is a gorgeous hotel and I have nothing but praise for the staff and well thought out facilities. Without exception, every member of staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the grounds are well kept and beautiful and the pool was a joy to use. Breakfast in the morning was always plentiful, delicious and served with a smile and the view of the sea from the restaurant is stunning. I strongly recommend a stay at this hotel, it really does deserve its fours stars. My only (very minor) complaint is that soundproofing between rooms needs looking at. Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Having stayed at this hotel a few times now it is going backwards. Whoever rated this hotel 4 stars was bluffed. Service has gone backwards from when it was a 3 star hotel but at least a lesser rating served to set expectations. Staff are rude and you feel like you're in their way (there were 2 exceptions) and room rate very expensive. This stay was part of a stay at a number of hotels over a 3 week period and we stayed at 5 star hotels for lees money per night that St Michael's. Good breakfasts and nice pool/spa but apart from that would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The positive points are the beautiful location of the hotel with the views over Falmouth bay and Gilly Beach. The hotel is exceptionally well presented and spotlessly clean. Reception staff are polite and attentive as were most of the cleaning staff we met. Food is excellent although a little pricey and therefore we only dined for the one night, Breakfasts though are well presented and of a high quality.
The negatives are that the walls are very thin. We stayed on the first floor and could her everyting in the room above us. This included creaking floorboards, conversations and the use of the toilet (not just the flushing!!!!). We clould also clearly hear conversations in the room next to us. This really spoilt the stay. The other neagtive is the bar service. Preference seems to be given to restauarant customers and therefore the bar was left unattended for long periods. When staff did arrive they totally ignored us and continued making drinks for the restaurant. Bar staff were inattentive and bordering on rudeness.
Would I stay again? possibly not, unless the hotel invest in soundproofng.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed for two nights having booked via Lastminute.com. The room was fine, if a little noisy. I think judging on other reviews as well that they need to address their soundproofing issues. I had two treatments at the spa and these were very enjoyable. Breakfast was very nice and was had in the restaurant with lovely views. We ate in the restaurant one night, food was reasonably priced and tasty and the service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 23 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
173 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing