We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous spot in Falmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Marvelous spot in Falmouth”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had a great time at St Michaels hotel while in England last summer. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, the back yard has a garden that leads you right to Queen Mary's Garden which is beautiful next to Gyllynvase Beach. The hotel staff is very hard working and I'd like to thank specially the people at the restaurant who where very nice to me. A special thanks to Bernie, Joe, Pinkie and some others that I can't remember the names. Thank you for the girls that cleaned my room. My room was small but very comfortable and from my window I could see the ocean that was a delight. Many thanks to all the staff of St. Michael. I LOVE FALMOUTH

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanebroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    367
    156
    90
    44
See reviews for
249
617
65
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have booked this hotel for a few people now. A really top place to stay, great rooms and the staff are really friendly. Very relaxing bar area. Really recommended as the place to stay on a visit to Falmouth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This weekend in the glorious Cornish sunshine myself and some of my family members enjoyed a trip to this hotel for a spa treatment each and coffee and lunch on the terrace...

The spa - The beauty therapist were friendly and professional we were all impressed with their kind manner and they really are a credit to this hotel. However your first impression of the spa is not the lovely therapists but the sour faced receptionist who not only found it impossible to crack a smile she was neither helpful or friendly (In fact a women was locked out of her swimming changing room locker and she told the women - who was dripping wet and in swimming attire to wait a moment before she dealt with her..!) Our treatments were however divine and the relaxation room a wonderful extra (especially with the sun streaming in!)

The Restaurant - Coffee one of the nations favourite treats, however my (cold) coffee at St Michaels was not a relaxing one! We waited 40 mins for 3 cups of coffee and when they eventually arrived they were far from hot. The waitress was clearly not coping and several other tables were forced to remind her of their order or in fact lack of.
For lunch the food was delicious (if slightly over priced for the portion size) i had the wholemeal bagel with salmon and prawns and it was delicious. However the general service of the restaurant staff left a lot to be desired, they didn't seem to know what they were doing, no tables were cleared and seagulls were circling the outside terrace. Wine options were not offered up just a couple of examples of how the customer service could be improved...

Overall the facilities and the spa staff were fantastic and it was lovely to enjoy the sunshine outside on the restaurant terrace, If the the customer service and restaurant staff were to improve I wouldn't hesitate to recommend however customer service is key and i believe as a 4 star establishment improvements should be made.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed one night-superb-everywhere spotlessly clean.The superior room we had certainly was-with decking/balcony.Quality furniture and fittings,immaculately maintained.Snack lunch in bar area excellent and evening meal and service excellent.Breakfast "under lights" disappointing because it's never hot enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband & I stayed two nights for my birthday in February.
The spa treatments were so relaxing, the food excellent & our room superb.
All of the staff were so helpful & the service second to none.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a premium room with a sea view & roof terrace which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

As a travel writer, I make it my business to try to say the best things possible about many businesses in the hotel industry, unfortunately I cannot do this with regards to the St. Michaels Hotel in Falmouth, Cornwall.

This evening I visited the St Michaels Hotel for the first time in many years and sat down in the lounge to enjoy a pot of tea. Looking around, I was immediately struck by the filthy dirty carpet with stains and crumbs and dust all over it. The table likewise in front of me was dirty.

A footstool close by similarly had stains on it and then upon looking behind the sofa, I couldn't help but notice food waste on the floor and litter also on the floor (out of general sight).

I brought the matter to the attention of the lady serving us our pot of tea and asked if the rubbish could be removed, her reply exactly, "Oh really? Well, there is nothing i can do about it now whilst we have guests in here, it will have to wait until the lounge area is empty." Which to be perfectly honest with you, I thought instantly, what a dreadful attitude.

I will never go back to this hotel again. If this is what it is like in the public areas, goodness only knows what the standard of cleanliness is like in the bedrooms.

Would I recommend anyone to visit here? No. I've seen many hostels much cleaner than the St Michaels Hotel in Falmouth. It was truly filthy by any stretch of the imagination with staff attitudes to match. Any normal person would have instantly arranged to have the rubbish behind the sofa immediately removed.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

On our trip we thought it would be good to check out this place for a future lunch trip. Really liked the modern interior,comfortable and warm with pleasant attentive staff.
Checked out the menu and from what we could see and felt about the place it is a cert for a lunch there in the near future.
Easy free parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing