We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a lovely spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a lovely spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for one night only but wish it could have been longer. Nice hotel with a sea front location and a beautiful spa and swimming pool. Good choice of breakfast and very friendly staff. Car prk is not the biggest and we had to park on the road as it was full but it was no problem. Would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    365
    151
    90
    43
See reviews for
246
611
65
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SHEPTON MALLET
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived early but allowed to leave our luggage,when we checked in at 15.00hrs we were greated with a smiling receptionist who said we were allocated a Superior Room, this had a garden view with the sea in the background and huge balcony, a large room with a 6ft wide bed all very clean and very inviting, we were very pleased although the staff did not know it was our 50th year of marriage and this made it very special. The staff were very friendly, but at evening dinner although not busy we did have two occasions when I had to look for menus and stand and order drinks at the bar when waiter were standing around talking. The meals were very filling and we found it difficult to fit in a sweet! Breakfast was a choice of what ever took your fancy, from fresh fruit to a full Cornish breakfast which would set you up for the day. The Spar facilities looked very inviting but we spent our time exploring the area. A very friendly family hotel with no trace of the massive group style. Thank You Very Much Alan & Margaret Williams

Room Tip: In the summer it would be worth an up-grade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Attended an awards evening here with a prebooked set meal. We all met in the main bar when suddenly there wasn't any bar serving, the bar manager(?) said we where all to move into the area for the meal. The bar ran out of lager within 10 minutes,we had to wait 15 minutes for the lager to be put back on. We had twelve people on our table,the starter for most of us was crab cakes,hot and no flavour we where given two kidney bowls of vegetables,broccoli,mange tout,French beans. Think they came from Asda own freezer bag. Chicken was very small and cold. Two of our had to wait till after most of us had finished to get their main meal. Very poor.. The manager again rude and unhelpful..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and i returned to St Michael's for our forth visit in two years, and everything was as good as usual.

However, what made this trip even more amazing was the care and concern shown to us when i became ill on our check out day. We were allowed to keep our room until i was well enough to get out of bed and face the drive home, and we weren't charged any extra for the delayed departure, even though it was around 4pm and not the required 11am!

The lovely breakfast waitress Bernice, even came to the room to see how i was, as she hadn't seen me at breakfast and was concerned. She, Isobel and colleagues (on reception) offered to help in any way they could. ThIs was far and above what you'd expect in a usual hotel setting.

A good hotel is great when things are going well, but it's the hotels that really care and show concern when you're not well, that take them into the superior league for me.

Thank you Bernice, Isobel and team, you were real stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

8 of us (4 couples) booked a single night BBD through a "deals" site. It was incredible value for money. Free upgrade to a superior room, although my friends room was certainly far superior to ours! Lovely meal, we were kept waiting because of another function booked though. There were lots of staff on duty at all times. The hotel was very busy, for Mid November. We ladies also partook of a spa treatment, a real treat. Breakfast was self service and lots of it, all fresh. We picked up their Christmas Party booklet. That looks to be excellent value too ( you can stay in the hotel for £5 as long as you buy breakfast for £15 so £20 B&B!)
We were in room 44 and there was a lot of external noise, a humming from an air conditioning unit perhaps, which did disturb our sleep. Our friends didn't have the same problem in other rooms though.
I'll keep my eyes open for other special offers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyH753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Comfortable.

I am unsure how anyone could be unhappy with this hotel. It is wonderful in so many ways.
Kick off your shoes and relax!

The design really should have an award never mind anything else! It is fun, cool and so stylish with its attention to detail such as the public loo handles and floor lighting - the photos do not do it justice as far as i am concerned and unbelievably in this day and age the staff wear uniforms! Tidy is cool!
Porters and waiters wear waistcoats as do the waitresses and the even the cleaning staff wear deck hand t- shirts. The theme is magnificent. You walk around just wanting to smile!

The staff are friendly but very proffessional. Probably most are mature and middleclass actually - much like the clientele; which ranged from International business men to older Ladies who enjoy a pamper and mature couples. Didn't see many children (but we were there midweek) but it would appeal to literally every generation with its practical and fun design.
Everyone was made comfortable because the staff are so helpful and friendly and will assist your every need without being invasive in the least. Experienced, Hardworking and Perfect!

Mr and Mrs Carpenter the proprieters clearly know how to employ and treat their staff - bravo!

The hotel was immaculate. Everywhere.

The spa and gym were not huge, but more than adequate.
It is all there if you desire, although some instructions left in the room leaflet would help if it pointed out that you need a £1 for towel hire or lockers?
Yes it was busy. The sign of good work, but the staff coped well in my opinion, also i don't expect to be treated as if i am the only person on the planet just because i am paying for a hotel room!

We arrived on a special offer and had an internal room.
View was hotel rooftops (however a room is to sleep and store especially on business) but internally the room was immaculate, comfortable and stylish. Again, much attention to detail, the maid leaves a calling card to make it personal and you LOCK your own door. Nice!

Think Travel lodge with better than Thistle standard...........every practical neccesity for a good nights rest but tasteful with superior comfort. We had a huge 6ft bed,with fabulously plumped up pillows and quilt, decorated with glorious, quality furnishing, wooden blinds and curtains, kettle, tea, coffee, chocolate and GOOD biscuits, with some luxury soap, shampoo,conditioner,shower wash and body lotion for the bathroom.
After our drive down, we fell into bed by 9.00pm! It was divine, but for some little noise disturbance at 5.00am of some kind of machine (sounded like icecream being made!) in someones room, we did not wake until 8.00am fully refreshed and ready to eat.

Perhaps we were close to staff quarters, it was not a huge problem and the room made up for the disturbance - we would stay again tomorrow, but it may be something for the hotel to consider.........soundproofing . Probably other rooms may not incurr this and it is definately not a complaint of the hotel but it was an incident worth noting.

Breakfast:
Healthy, buffet style with waitress attendance for drinks and toast of fresh orders.
Gorgeous award winning sausages, back bacon and the usual for full English Breakfast, but there was a quality cereal choice - good muesli and yogurt - rather than quantity, and a good meat and cheese continental breakfast choice also. More than adequate we thought.
POT of tea and coffee, white and brown toast choice.

The restaurant has stunning views of the hotel gardens and out to the bay.
It was November and raining.
I haven't enjoyed breakfast so much for a long time - doesn't that sum it up?!!

Grab a newpaper and enjoy this wonderful laid back ambiance; where the staff work hard on your behalf - very subtly and mainly unnoticable, but like clockwork - very dependable.
There is no moronic supermarket music either, anywhere - which i personally loved!

We will head there immediately if ever we are in the area either to rest, work, shop or holiday.
Well done and thankyou for refreshing us beautifully!

Room Tip: Check the special offers and take an internal room if costs are important, the hotel is just great t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
WOW!! Thank you for such a lovely review, it certainly sounds like you had a very special holiday.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so lovely to hear we made such a difference to your holiday. We always aim to deliver 4 Star plus service and it is always good to hear our efforts have paid off.

Once again, thank you so much for your kind words and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was very exciting about staying at this hotel because the photos looked amazing and we seemed to get a good deal for 2 nights b&b incl dinner on one, & a spa gift. However, although the entrance and bar/restaurant area was impressive, the room was quite drab and basic. The duvet in fact had dissintegrated and had lumps of broken up filling. Our shower made a dreadful noise that must have woken other guests up! Lunch on arrival was not good. My husband had a dead fly in his lager which admittedly was changed but on his return from the bar, I found I had several hairs in my sandwich! Too embarrassed to complain again! Dinner proved to have quite large supplements on several dishes and we had to wait over 20mins for our drinks. The cheese platter 3rd course consisted of 2 doorsteps of bread & no butter. There seemed to be lots of staff but no-one in charge and service was poor. At breakfast, there were no fruit juice glasses & the bacon and scrambled egg had run out although there were many guests still in the restaurant. The hotel certainly wasnt as special as we were expecting and we werent made to feel special either.

Room Tip: Make sure the room isnt over the gym or you will hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing