We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Break”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A late 4-day break with our 8 year-old daughter before start of school. Accommodation in family room was very comfortable with plenty of space. Had booked St Michael's because of the spa and pool but unable to get massage at short notice. Car park could be a bit jammed sometimes. The restaurant was excellent and good value - decided to eat out one evening and wished we hadn't! Daughter enjoyed the food too. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. All topped of with some fabulous sunshine so lots of local beach time and some sea kayaking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had such good luck with the weather, well done!!

We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    364
    151
    90
    43
See reviews for
245
611
65
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October and had a relaxing peaceful overnight stay.
Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean, the aspect was nice, looking out over the sea.
The restaurant served delicious meals and had a nice busy atmosphere. Service was timed perfectly and our waitress was really friendly and helpful. The menu was carefully selected and served beautifully so as to create a real sense of a dining experience.
Breakfast was nice too, all the guests had come down at once, so it was busy, but the staff handled it calmly and efficiently.
The swimming pool and spa facilities were nice to spend a relaxing hour in.
The spa treatments are AMAZING! I had the 20-20-20 and the back bliss treatment. They were both the best treatments I have ever had. The beauty therapists in the spa work really hard, they are very professional and made me feel relaxed and at ease as soon as I walked in.
All the staff at the hotel and spa were very friendly and welcoming, we would like to thank them for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 52, it is above the gym and the music and running machines get turned on very earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife booked me in for a surprise spa treatment.

Once I found the hotel (signage could be better) I was met by lovely staff and welcomed into a very nice waiting room.

The treatment was lovely, my only possible crit was that like many hotel spa treatment rooms, it was tiny. It's as if the management have to decide if they want to use the space as toilets or spa rooms.

However, once the treatment was over, I was shown to another room and offered to stay as long as I wanted and relax with drinks. A nice touch.

Thoroughly lovely and I'd love to come back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank legrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is nice to hear you enjoyed your spa day. We appreciate some of our treatment rooms are a little smaller but as you say we do have our much larger relaxation room for our guests to enjoy. We also encourage our spa visitors to make the most of our lounge facilities upstairs, lunch, cream teas or a cocktail could be the perfect follow up to a spa day!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My new husband and I had an amazing couple of days spent at St.Michael's Hotel. Service was excellent, food was amazing, Spa & Gym facilities were great, and the high quality of the hotel was second to none!

During our relaxing couple of honeymoon days in Falmouth I read in the local paper that Alex Polizzi (famous for being a TV Hotel Inspector) had recently stayed here whilst filming on location in the area. Well, if a daughter of a successful hotel empire has previously stayed here, then all the positive rumours must be true! And they definately were.

An impressive hotel, and will definately rebook to stay again for future staycations in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy_Eff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Well firstly congratulations to the newlyweds! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Cornish Honeymoon and am also very happy to hear that St Michaels Hotel and Spa helped make this occasion so special.


Congratulations from all at St Michaels and we look forward to welcoming you back, maybe to celebrate your 1st Anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst visiting the oyster festival. She loves spa treatments and was impressed by the facilities.
Not easy to pick holes - on one evening it took far too long to get a drink, as a young barman who was clearly new was a bit overwhelmed, but hey we still had a good time. The staff were friendly, knowledgable and helpful, the restaurant food was excellent, with a bias for seafood (understandably) but I did have a delicious lamb dish having said that.
The view was beautiful, there's a lovely little beach on one side, and an easy downhill walk into Falmouth on the other. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Overall a very positive experience and we look forward to going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A most enjoyable weekend. We had no complaints. The food was so imaginative, the staff friendly and the room comfortable. A couple of problems in our room were dealt with swiftly and efficiently, and on a Sunday too. A delightful location enhanced by the local Oyster Festival. Free fast WiFi was a bonus.

Room Tip: We were in The Captain's House which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. On arrival we were blown away by the location which was simply stunning, matching the style and ambiance of the hotel. We were slightly disappointed with the size and layout of our standard room but the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful when we asked to switch. Within minutes we had been upgraded to a superior room which was perfect, we were also upgraded to a suite for the final night of our stay which was an unexpected bonus. The staff were all friendly and accommodating at all times, occasionally the waiting staff took a little longer to serve at busy times but generally very good. The spa and leisure facilities were very modern and well run, treatments were reasonably priced and they had a good policy of discounting some treatments within 24 hours up to 15%. Probably worth treading carefully when booking classes in the gym without adequate experience, we are still aching after the excellent body pump class (our fault for getting carried away!). The beautiful local beach and wonderful beachfront cafe/bar were an expected bonus and complemented St Michael's Spa perfectly in what was a dream break for my wife and I. We are scratching our heads why some reviewers have been so negative but then it is down to personal experience. WE WILL BOOK AGAIN SOON!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,054 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing