We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location, good wedding venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, good wedding venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We attended a wedding here and can thoroughly recommend the hotel. All the staff were very professional and friendly.
We stayed 3 nights, ate at Gilly beach bistro the first night, the hotel the second and, Pizza Express the third.
The hotel is well positioned just behind the beach (only a 2 minute walk) with great views of Falmouth bay from the higher floors. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Falmouth harbour area as well, with plenty of shops in the town and coffee/eating places around the marina area.
The hotel pool and spa are excellent, we had spa treatments during our visit which were inexpensive.
The breakfast selection was good, although they have a slightly odd ordering system for any type of egg except scrambled. Seems a bit strange to order fried eggs and then have to go to the buffet for tomatoes and bacon etc, only to find these have run out and the eggs are getting cold.
Bar prices were slightly inflated but not excessively so.
Room was comfortable and clean, but no air conditioning, so as this was the hottest weekend of the year so far, we were a bit hot at night. I would have preferred a balcony, but the rooms with balcony have their views restricted by the mature trees in the gardens.
We watched Andy Murray win the tennis on the large screen TV in the lounge area and were served complementary strawberries and cream, to make the atmosphere just right.
The car park is a bit small for the size of hotel and it can be a struggle to find (and get in and out of) some spaces.
Overall though a comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable weekend.
I would come back here.

Room Tip: Depends if there is a function at the hotel when you stay. This can be noisy. Rooms 22/23/24 are abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    362
    147
    85
    41
See reviews for
237
598
65
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I visited on a spa day a few months ago. The day itself was good value for money and the spa facilities were excellent. We both enjoyed the meal in the restaurant and would like to eat here again. The hotel is in a fantastic location next to the sea and Gylly beach so I imagine it would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your spa and dinner experience with us. We do have lots of offers for August and September so yes you really should treat yourselves to a stay!

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, friday and saturday. I booked a single room, but was happy to receive a double bed, a compact room but ok for one person. Room was clean and modern. Car park however was always full so parking was a pain, especially with a suit case, shame they dont reserve spaces with a room as the car park is also used by Spa day visitors. So ended up parking two streets away, glad it wasnt raining.
Breakfast was fine, a limited selection for a 4 star but you could order items if you wanted from the menu, some incurred an extra cost!!
Bar area was clean and comfortable, didnt use the restaurant except for breakfast. The smoking area was at the front entrance which seemed odd.

Room Tip: For solo, single rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloMan_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most of your stay, however disappointed that there were aspects you were not happy with.

We are aware that the parking can be an issue. We do not give preference to our hotel guests over our health club members as we feel this would be unfair. We usually manage to find parking for all and our Porter is always happy to look for any spaces and is always on hand to help with luggage. We are also very lucky to be on a quiet residential road, so this can be used for safe parking also. I appreciate your issues with the parking however it is not usually this bad.

We have just refurbished our Captains House and along with this we are building a new sheltered smoking area too.

I hope these issues have not put you off from returning.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed just over the weekend and booked last minute. Paid something around 150£ for a garden facing double room which was not bad at all. A bit dark.. but next time would book sea-view room. Very nice decor all over the hotel, and you surely feel like on holiday.. Lovely garden around and i would say very good for nice relaxing time off. Very friendly staff and especially the receptionist Louise. :) You surely feel welcome, and that's what really matters. Room was clean and tidy although the smell was a bit strange, not sure why..
The breakfast was included in the room price, but a bit disappointing I would say.. I travel a bit and would expect just a little bit more from a nice English hotel.. the choice was not great as only some scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and sausages.. There were no veggies at all, and it would nice to include some fried or boiled eggs for those who don't like scrambled.. Also, the bread choice could be better.. You could obviously order some food a'la carte but I feel that paying 150£ for 1 night for double room, the choice should have been better.. I travel a bit, and that was one of the poorest breakfast choice i have seen till now in Europe.. which is a shame.. Otherwise, stunning sea-views and nice beach just by.. A spa with heated pool which was of course very handy. Good place for older couples I think.. Very quite and comfortable place, and would recommend it. heard the restaurant is good, but had no chance to try..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danek_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Thank you for another lovely stay. We again enjoyed our visit, staff were very attentive and food again wonderful, we stayed on the dinner inclusive break so ate at the hotel restaurant for the 3 nights that we were there. The standard room that we had this time though, wasn't as nice as the one we had before on the ground floor, we were in the basement this time and it was a bit noisier. Having said that, the bed was very comfortable and the room clean and replemished every day with toiletories and tea coffee etc. a good choice of beverages also, hot chocolate and different teas which is unusual. I used the treatment room and had a lovely facial given by Jodie and we used the spa every day that we were there, which was very busy this visit.
I must say also that I think the breakfast system in place now works a lot smoother that the last system of ordering all the hot food, it all seems a lot calmer at breakfast now doing just some special orders.
It is so nice however, not to have a shortage of staff as some Hotels try to cut corners, this Hotel makes you feel a bit pampered which I think is lovely touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff. On being advised that our room was inland facing we asked whether we could get an upgrade to a sea view, the receptionist did her best but advised us that unfortunately this was not possible as they were so busy. As this would have simply been an added bonus it was not a problem, until we entered the room we had actually booked. It was in the basement and, although it had a little patio, it was right next to the gym and looked directly at a fence that hid a generator. The room itself resembled a much smaller version of what we'd viewed on the website and was certainly not what we'd expected for the rate that we'd paid at the time of booking. Over a drink at the hotel bar we decided to politely point this out to a member of staff and she immediately upgraded us to what we imagine was the honeymoon suite - it had a lovely sea view, large bathroom, separate lounge area and much bigger bed - much more like it! Unfortunately the room had no air and no sound proofing so we didn't quite get the peaceful night's sleep we were hoping for but at least we had a lovely large room to be kept awake in!

Room Tip: Make sure you are above basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KAW1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is offers services miles above the standard of building it is constrained within. The decor is superior and the staff are amazing. It is just a sham the builing is so small and not suited to its location. The floors do need more soudproofing. But overall I dont think it affects the overall performance of the hotel. I will be going back..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbojeta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank your for such a lovely review! We do pride ourselves on giving 4 star service and it is always good to hear when it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
3.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing