We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights including dinner and breakfast and really enjoyed the hotel. The swimming pool was nice but did get quite busy and the gym looked modern and well used. The dinner was really tasty, highly recommended. My personal choice would be the fish, it was cooked perfectly. The staff were really welcoming and very helpful

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. Clean and comfortable. Spa is quite nice, bigger changing rooms would improve things. Wifi connection was sporadic. Breakfast was ok, could do with a little more care being applied to the cooking. Fairly wide choice of cereals etc. Lovely view from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyr8603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for Christmas party, room was very nice with sea/beach view, and lovely ensuite. Staff were the best I've come across, couldn't do more to help you and very friendly. Would recommend and definately stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your really lovely review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here and that my staff were so helpful. My team will be very pleased to hear your comments as they do pride themselves on delivering a high standard of customer service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a room for an overnight stay to attend a party night with a group of my wife's work colleagues. For various reasons the group decided to cancel their booking (this cancellation had nothing to do with the hotel) we decided to keep our room booking and book a table at the hotel's Flying Fish Restaurant which we had heard many good reports about. I cannot overstate how impressed we were about everything from when we arrived till we left the following morning. The staff were very friendly and polite, the rooms were very clean & tidy. We had to eat in "The Locker" for our evening meal as the main restaurant was being used for the party, but this made no difference at all as it was so comfortable and a cosy setting. The food and the service was magnificent. The breakfast and the service was also of a very high standard. We would recommend St Michael's Hotel to anybody. PS we did not use the Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teaboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

well the best place to start is the beginning ,top of the search list falmouth hotels so we thought we would give it a go never stayed in falmouth before .booking over the phone was quick and easy the lady i spoke to was helpful and efficient. upon arrival we were slightly disappointed to find the hotel surrounded on three sides by large residential properties which is not made clear either in the brochure or on the website
On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly ,we stayed in an annex called the Captains House the rooms were very average,clean and tidy but slightly over priced
We booked a table in the restaurant on the first night ,service was a bit slow to start with but as soon as we got going things were great ,really good food {the seafood was excellent] at the right price. the bar was modern light and airy a nice place to spend time
my wife and i both enjoyed a spa treatment clean tidy the staff were helpfull
all in all we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this fabulous hotel for 4 nights over Christmas and had a brilliant time. The staff are friendly and helpful and our rooms (one in the Captain's house and one in main hotel) were beautiful & very well equipped. There were lots of nice touches, particularly on Christmas Day with presents for the children and hamper for the grownups. A good range of entertainment, although quiz very difficult!! The food was excellent with a great choice. The only slightly disappointing meal was xmas lunch and that was down to the long wait between starters and main course but we put this down to the additional guests that were only there for lunch, although there were plenty of staff on? The location is fabulous and we enjoyed lovely walks along the beach and cliff pathways. It was great to be able to bring our dog too. We made good use of the lovely pool. Wouldn't hestitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arranged as a group from work. We normally do this Alternative New Year party at the Falmouth Beach - which burned down and is now flattened!
All in all it was a really good event in a nice hotel. The beach and seaside theme throughout makes it bright and clean. We've stayed there before, and room decor and furnishings had felt a bit tired and jaded but this time all seemed to have been refreshed.
We'd extended our one night stay to two, having the earlier day and evening to spend with relatives who live and work in Falmouth (so we are regular visitors). Our standard room was in the Captain's House next to the main hotel. It was lovely, with an entrance lobby with the large bathroom and bedroom through separate doors. Because of the flattening of the Falmouth Beach hotel we had a fantastic sea view which exceeded our expectations for a standard room.
The food, service and music for the party was great. Just a couple of points for the hotels consideration if they intend continuing with this type of event. The long narrow tables don't work as well as round ones would. Also, the table was set for six aside, but that was really pushing it on comfort. The two on the open end where only able to sit half in front of their place settings, and half in the gangway. Five aside- if they have to belong narrow tables - would have been perfect. Obviously, round tables overcome the elbow room issue and the 'out on the end' issue too making for a better social experience.
I agree with all that has been said about breakfast. Long waits for tea and coffee, lukewarm food, cold plates (had been hot on the first morning we were there, but seemed volume overcame quality on second morning). Generally got the impression that breakfast team were under pressure that they weren't used to! Perhaps the hotel might consider extending breakfast time to overcome the 9-9:30 rush which always seems to happen.
So whilst I give a Very Good assessment, if these few things were sorted they would have got an excellent. So, if you are staying outside of the party season, you may feel you can disregard my 'issues'. I must add that I had no complaint about breakfast on previous stays, so assume it is the volume of 'late' breakfast arrivals that they need to sort out, again if they intend to continue to take advantage of the party market.
We will return and look forward to seeing some of the finishing touches ironed out.

Room Tip: The Captain's House is lovely - away from the main hotel but close enough not to feel you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyInky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,142 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.3 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $88 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ELEMIS treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing