We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stress free Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stress free Christmas”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we stayed 4 nights for Christmas, and loved it from start to finish, all the little touches, stocking on the bed when we went to our room after dinner Christmas Eve, then Christmas day a hamper full of Cornish goodies. The choice of food was good and nicely presented, but a bit bland and we had to ask at every meal for salt and pepper as the cruet set was not on the table. I guess that could be personal taste. It would not stop us from returning or recommending it to others. we stayed in the Captains House as we had our dog with us, they supplied a dog bed, which we didn't use and dog bowls, also a bag of treats.

Room Tip: we had room 9 in the Captains house, which had sea views and a lovely size bathroom,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Another lovely review, thank you. I agree, room 9 has stunning sea views and the Captains House is very popular for our guests bringing their 4 legged friends. We are currently working on enhancing the enterance to the Captains House, so you must come back soon to let us know what you think!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    377
    162
    99
    50
See reviews for
263
635
66
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked a 3 day Christmas break here and have just returned. It was fabulous and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The break included dinner on Christmas Eve, preceded by a carol service where a local brass band played. Very festive and got us all in the mood for Christmas. Bucks fizz breakfast on Christmas day then a wonderful lunch with a terrific selection including traditional turkey dinner. We chose roast haunch of venison which came medium rare, but I asked for mine well done, which was done prefectly for me. The meal was excellent, accompanied by crackers with good quality gifts! At breakfast Father Christmas gave every couple or family group a hamper full of local goodies. A very nice touch and much appreciated.
Boxing day was a day of fun with a treasure hunt round Falmouth folloed by a trip to the Truro pantomime, at an additional cost, but worth every penny. Dinner that evening was, again, delicious and followed by a casino night.
A truly excellent Christmas break with lots of nice additional touches such as a card from the owners, a welcome drink delivered to our room on arrival, which made unpacking a lot more enjoyable.
Spa treatments were available but we did not try any although we used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room. There are times when the pool area is for adults only, another thoughtful touch.
If you enjoy good food, comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and excellent service you will find them all at St Michaels Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a little outdoor patio area with a restricted view towards the sea. Room 85 is higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrispyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
WOW!! this a lovely review, thank you. We are so happy to have had such amazing feedback from our guests that stayed during the Festive season. It really was a lovely time here at St Michaels, not just for the guests but the staff really enjoyed it too! We are so proud of what we offer for Christmas, and you are right, we belive it is the extra touches that really make it special.

You must come back soon and this time enjoy the spa treatments!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend just before christmas as we had our christmas party here. From the moment we checked in till the moment we left we found everything to be of a high standard. The decor was contemporary and tasteful. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food and the service was wonderful. The hotel is just opposite the beach and a short walk from the town. There are excellent spa facilities and it really is the perfect place to stay. We are going back next year and have no hesitation in recommending this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear you will be returning.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel, last minute, as a treat for my husbands birthday, Great hotel, Excellent value for money,we were given an upgrade, free complimentary drink with dinner and a birthday dessert, which was all very personnel and made us feel special. The room was lovely,with views of the sea, the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in. The food was lovely as was the breakfast, with georgous views of the beach, from the dining room. Definatley would recommend the hotel and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn2012Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so glad we could help make your husbands birthday special. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest customer service to our guests and it is always good to hear it is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I booked an evening in this hotel 09/12/12 with dinner and use of the spa/swimming pool. I have to say it was great value for money. The room was amazing and spotlessly clean, we stayed in the Captain's House which is separate from the main hotel and had a beautiful view of the sea. The bathroom was a very good size not your usual cupboard. We had booked a meal and as it was Christmas party season we were offered to eat in "The Locker" which is a very intimate dining area with only a handful of tables which was perfect from the hustle and bustle of the parties. The food was of a very high standard especially as the kitchen were catering for Christmas parties and we didn't have to wait for our courses to arrive. We even had breakfast in bed the following morning and it arrived on time and the food was still hot, very delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel as we received brilliant service throughout our stay by all members of staff.

Room Tip: Stay in the Captain's House if you can, we had Room 9 which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, it is such a lovely atmosphere during the festive season. The Captains House is very popular and we are so lucky to have such perfect views of the beautiful sea in so many of our rooms.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently had dinner,bed and breakfast here. Hotel is very comfortable, the room was clean,warm and well decorated. I used the swimming pool and found it clean and warm, it isn't very big though. The food was good although I had set meal and didn't look at restaurant menu. The views are spectacular and the beach right nearby. The only negative was that I couldn't get the showers in the pool changing room to run hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We have had such amazing feedback from all of our Christmas Party guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your night and hope that you can come back before next Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lovely hotel and fantastic service, nothing was too much trouble....staff very friendly.
Room lovely and bed comfy..
Breakfast was a little slow in the morning, but think this was due to a function the night before so everyone arriving at the same time on the Sunday morning...but breakfast was great, lots of choice and things cooked to order..

The best hotel in Falmouth by far....

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
19.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Property: St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ESPA treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing