We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely supberb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amanzi

Amanzi
Ranked #5 of 222 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family-run restaurant creating South African inspired dishes made from Cornish produce.
england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely supberb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is superb, one of the most enjoable dining experiences we've ever had

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zephyr782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    93
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spot on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Amanzi is fairly new in Falmouth and we've been visiting the town regularly for the last 10 years or so, and intending to go to Amanzi for a while - but we've got 2 young children and that always makes things complicated. We decided to go, and with the kids (risky!) on the basis that it sounded friendly enough to be OK to bring kids and we'd heard great things about the food. I'm actually South African by birth (but been in UK most of my life) so it was a chance for a taste of 'home'.

It was great - I don't tend to rate/review often, but the staff were so warm and friendly and the food so excellent that I wanted to post this. We had Biltong salad and Bunny Chow for starters (it's got to be said the description of the Bunny chow doesn't do it justice - it sounds like beef in a bread roll: sandwich-like. Where as it's actually a wonderfully rich meaty stew that is served in a hollowed-out freshly-baked round loaf.) Both had a subtle kick to them, but the mark of good food was that the freshness and subtler flavours weren't lost in the spice.

For mains we went for ribs (huge) and Bobotie - again they managed the tricky art of combining a number of flavours without overwhelming the palate. Great chips too - while chips aren't high art, it's amazing (and bewildering) how many good restaurants get them wrong.

The service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive at all, and the vantage point they have is great for watching the Falmouth life go by.

Just the one dessert - Chile Chocolate tort - which actually was akin to three desserts in one. It came with a fantastic sorbet (lime and cardamom) and a chocolate shell filled with cherries garnished with strips of mint. Brilliant.

Thier wine choice was carefully selected although not hugely wide, as was the choice of beers/largers/cider. But I suspect most people come here for the food, and breadth of choice is no subsitute for a small selection that are well matched to the flavours.

In terms of value, we spent a bit more here than we had the previous night-out in the more obvious 'family-friendly (toddler-tolerant)' choice of Pizza Express - and had a far more memorable and higher quality experience. 3 courses plus wine for two came to £60; so I'd say that's great value.

Heartily recommend - and will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Last night on our trip to Falmouth in August. Ended our holiday with great night. Food delicious and that little bit different. Owners hospitality was very welcoming despite the restaurant being very busy. My 13 year old son loved the homemade ginger beer, I agree it tasted wonderful - pity we couldn't get them to spill the beans on the secret recipe!!
Falmouth is a long drive from Scotland but would definitely visit Amanzi again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMT895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Did not expect to find an African restaurant in Falmouth and especially such a good one.
Great menu and superb flavours with an excellent range of wine.
Very hospitable and good value for money.
Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jampro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were so lucky to get in on Sunday 1st September, as there had been a late cancellation. Attractive place to eat and the food was pretty good. My husband's seafood platter was huge and he ate the lot. My steak and chips were just perfect. We both enjoyed the glorious cape brandy tart, shame we didn't have room for seconds. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive, the place was clean and comfortable - including the 'Karsi'! We had the best table looking out on the street. It was a perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanzi also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Amanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing