We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always accommodating”
Review of Broadmead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadmead Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay here courtesy of my job.

On both occasions I arrived late I the evening and left early before breakfast time. On both occasions the proprietors made sure there was fresh milk, fruit and yoghurts in the fridge.

The hotel is within walking distance of Falmouth town center which has a couple of places to eat.

On the whole.....its not the best and its not the worst place I've stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Broadmead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I liked this place. It's a big airy place with high ceilings and bay windows and a nice lounge where you can pick up wi-fi. I was given a very generous size single room equipped with a comfy bed, desk big enough to work at, full size kettle with plenty of quality beverages, and a large ensuite bathroom with the biggest bath I have ever been in. The decor was definitely dated but everything was perfectly clean and usable except the shower only had hot and cold options, nothing in between.

The old boy running the Broadmead was attentive without being intrusive or boring and nothing was too much trouble. He was happy to put incoming phone calls through to my room and did me an early breakfast which was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHW551673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The owner, in my opinion,was ill-mannered and rude. On arrival he lectured us on car registrations and questioned the fact we were only four people when he was expecting five. This was because two doubles and one single had been allocated. In fact, when booking, these had been the only rooms available. This meant he had to remove a place setting on our breakfast table, he was most annoyed by this.What a chore!
My room wasn't very clean with spiders and cobwebs firmly established.Not the best thing for someone who suffers from arachnophobia. The bed was clean but the carpet was dirty. The whole place was very outdated and the plumbing is in dire need of attention as it kept us awake most of the night.
The website implies that this "hotel" is licensed with a restaurant serving excellent cuisine. In fact it is a breakfast room which is limited to the hours of 8am - 9am. There is a bar which is firmly shuttered and no sign of a lunch or dinner menu. Luckily Falmouth has some wonderful eating establishments where we actually got treated as real customers.
Either John Cleese or the owner seem to have copied each other. If it hadn't been so annoying I suppose it could have been funny if watched as a television programme.
However, we are very sorry we disrupted his existence, but not to worry as another visit here is not going to happen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Pleasant reception on arrival, owner friendly, courteous and attentive. Had a room on the top floor, which although slightly on the small-size had a spacious en-suite bathroom and VERY comfortable bed (rarely do I sleep so soundly!). Breakfast had a good selection, and the full english every morning got the day off to a good start. As mentioned the proprieter was warm and helpful - without encroaching on one's space - and more than willing to help with local information and advice when asked.

Altho the room itself was slightly in need of a re-vamp - it had some slight tatty edges - everything worked well, tea and coffee was kept topped up, and as a whole represented good value for money. Just a new lick of paint and to replace a couple of furnishings would transform the overall appearance of a nice basic room.

Town is far enough away to keep the noise-levels down but accessible enough for a pleasant evening walk out to dinner.

Falmouth itself well-situated for access to the rest of Cornwall, and contains all amenities and facilities could really need.

Overall a really pleasant and enjoyable stay, the Broadmead Hotel representating good value for money and a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niknak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very helpful hosts, expected less for the price and was pleasantly surprised.

Lots of breakfast options, and good quality food. Room was small but very comfortable, with lots of hot water.

Would definitely stay again, the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbeth1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A small single room and very basic but otherwise OK for a few days. The carpark was too small for all of the guests cars and breakfast starrted at 8 which was too late for the business travellers. The owner was polite and attentive and the other staff were friendly and helpful. Overall an average B&B, certainly not a 'hotel'.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a three night stay in a twin room. Unfortunately, on the ground floor, so no view of anything but cars. The room smelt musty and a bit damp and the head boards were greasy, (could easily be cleaned). A tiny ensuite shower room too. Good quality breakfast with plenty of choice, although if you choose the haddock fillet, be aware, that is all you get,so top up on toast!!
A good ten minute walk to town or the nearest pub/restaurant, and the hill is not so good on the way back up!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sniffy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 24 in Falmouth
92 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.7 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
298 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadmead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadmead Hotel

Address: 66-68 Kimberley Park Road, Falmouth TR11 2DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: $78 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadmead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broadmead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadmead Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing