We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meal and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hut

The Hut
Ranked #90 of 222 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Hut is an intimate candlelit bistro with booth seating and a great selection of fresh seafood on the menu. Including Lemon Sole, Dover Sole, Crab and an amazing Seafood Platter.
Bromley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had 2 starters for the adults, Calamari & Crab Cakes which were both very good. The kids had catch of the day, Pollock cooked in breadcumbs and parmesan while the adults had fresh sole and seafood chowder. We had 2 free desserts which were hijacked by the kids, which I was informed were also very good. House white was really good and a bottle was reasonable and we ended up having 2 extra 250ml glasses. All this plus sparkling water for the brats and 1 beer, for under £85.

Service was good, and we would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimCBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    18
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great seafood in cosy environs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Suprisingly good seafood. I had excellent calamari and could have eaten more. Followed by fresh Cornish sole cooked in parmasen, delicious. Cosy interior and service good. Good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Started well - went down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First visited a few years ago and was impressed by quality of fresh sea food, great service and good wine. Last visit (in both senses) delivered indifferent food (not that fresh) and poor quality wine at a moderately high price. Would need to see evidence of clear improvement to visit again. Always cramped but was worth the discomfort in the past - not anymore I'm afraid.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for three course meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pleasant basement restaurant down alley leading to harbour. Order two courses and get third for free. The catch of the day was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fesh fish - well cooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderfully fresh fish cooked well. Our four scallop starter was cooked perfectly with a delicious dressing. I followed with a trio of sole which was again delicious and a sensible portiion and my partner's crabcakes were another tasty and generous portion. Accompanied by a sensible wine list at very reasonabe prices, we just about managed a lovely dessert to finish a very enjoyable evening.
Friendly service and a good buzz - we loved it. The only possible note of caution is that there are steps down to access the simply presented restaurant below street level.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlEwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hut also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing