We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House
Ranked #27 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, the rooms were clean, with tea/coffee facilities and hair dryer, the breakfast was yummy, and Gill was very welcoming, I would definately stay at The Guest House again, We stayed in the attatic room, the views are beautiful,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedlad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
59
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August and enjoyed our stay. We had the Chinese Room, which was very spacious and nicely furnished/decorated. We also enjoyed the breakfast. The B&B is within a 5 minute walk of the high street, so close to shops and resturants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet_Leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed three nights in the attic room of the Guest House. The views of the harbour and surrounding Falmouth are amazing and made the room feel very magical. I would also recommend Gill and her husband as hosts. They are warm and friendly and very helpful with information. I like that they serve breakfast in the kitchen so we felt very much at home.

Room Tip: The attic room has a desk with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

So nice these days to find somewhere to stay where the owners are willing to go that extra mile for their guests! Gill met us at the station, showed us our room and then brought us up a lovely slice of cake! The Chinese Room was excellent - very clean and spacious - I couldn't fault anything! Breakfast (as others have commented on) was very good - a huge choice and again, nothing was too much trouble! Gill and Dave are the perfect hosts and we would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Guest House to friends! Thank you!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank suesutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecornwallEngland, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks Sue for taking the time to write a review for The Guest House. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room was gorgeous, peaceful and clean. The guesthouse is a short walk from Falmouths main high street and about 20 mins to the beach. It is set upon a hill so there are stunning views looking out over the harbour. Lovely house, great breakfast and friendly and warm welcoming from Gill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovecornwallEngland, Owner at The Guest House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for the positive review Insa. Hope to see you again soon. Good luck for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Arrived in early afternoon to a very warm welcome and received very effective and informative information regarding places to see and various routes to take around Falmouth. Booked the room based on the Internet photos of the attic room and when we arrived it didn't disappoint. The attic room was delightful with 270 degree views all over Falmouth harbour and provided what could only be described as the second best view of the harbour in town (the second best only thanks to the observatory just down the road, which is what you would expect from an observatory anyway). The room also boasted a large bed with a small but very nice bathroom and charming seating area for the television. Breakfast was situated in the kitchen and was fantastic, with nothing being missed. Would definitely stay again on a return to falmouth. Many thanks to the guesthouse for making our stay what it was.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leemosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Gill was an excellent host from the start. Our attic room had an amazing view of Falmouth Harbour and she knew we just wanted to take this in and chill a bit on arrival. We were handed our keys and had the breakfast rules explained and then she disappeared!

Breakfast was superb with a choice of breakfast items or all four if you wanted! The Bercher Meusli was delicious.

Apart from this Gill was extremely helpful with suggestions for beaches and restaurants nearby and great company.

The room was great, clean and well appointed - clean towels every other day.

We would definitely recommend The Guest House in Falmouth and when we come back to the area - will stay again - but want to try the Chinese room next time!

Room Tip: Attic room has a great view but you have to mind you head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Broadmead Hotel
Broadmead Hotel
#20 of 24 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#15 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#29 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lyonesse Guest House
Lyonesse Guest House
#10 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headlands
Headlands
#11 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Guest House
Tregenna Guest House
#16 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 7 Marlborough Road, Falmouth TR11 3LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing