We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gold Medal to Tina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheel House

The Wheel House
Ranked #1 of 222 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Locally, daily caught shellfish served in a relaxed and very friendly atmosphere.Customer service and enjoyment are our priorities open from 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Wednesday-saturday
fareham
Level Contributor
344 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Gold Medal to Tina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

When you come here its not just about the food but also the marvellous friendly ambience .It is to be found at the bottom of a very small ginnel called Upton slip. Don't be put off by this because this is a little treasure. We were really well looked after by all the staff but Tina the owner deserves a special mention .She helped us to make the best of the crabs that we ordered ...( the meat from the crabs is self extraction ) and the prawns , mussels and scallops were superb.
I can readily empathise with the comment from another reviewer about arriving as a customer and leaving as a friend.
Well done Tina

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    50
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood we have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want the freshest, tastiest seafood that is simply prepared and tastes amazing then this is the place to go!! Only if you are lucky enough to book a table will you experience something wonderful.....the food, staff and place are simply outstanding, you arrive as a customer and leave as a friend. I would most definitely say that this is the best restaurant and best seafood I have ever eaten in my life!!!........cannot wait to return it is worth the 4 hour drive just to eat here and experience the ambience. Thank you Tina and team cannot wait to come back. Pingu 28/3/14

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood in ages! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

The best seafood meal I have had in such a long time. It is fantastic local food then isn't over complicated or fussy. It is the perfect example of having the best ingredients without a huge price tag or being pretentious. We loved it and can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Sigourneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful - every time (and i have been loads!!!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Fantastic food - fresh off the boat that morning. The prawns and Scallops are to die for and the bread is wonderfully fresh. Staff, despite being Extremely busy every time I have been, makes time to stop and talk to you and have a wonderful manner.Brilliant word-of-mouth restaurant - a must for locals.

The place is sooo wonderfully decorated too!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaylesMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went during half term week on a Wednesday while holidaying in the area the rest of the town seemed quiet however the Wheel House was packed out with locals. Very charming owner and attentive, quick, polite staff. Delicious, beautifully cooked shellfish. Small but well chosen wine list. Tables tightly packed but convivial. A very special night; highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebud120604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel House also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Wheel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing