We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheel House

The Wheel House
Ranked #1 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Locally, daily caught shellfish served in a relaxed and very friendly atmosphere.Customer service and enjoyment are our priorities open from 6.00Pm - 9.00Pm Wednesday-saturday
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

A lovely evening out, not cheap mind you but great atmosphere and good food and drink. A little pricey to be honest and disappointingly it doesn't accept cards of any type

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rat_Tabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    50
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've been here a few times and again, this was a delicious dinner and the service excellent. Always such a buzzy atmosphere, so cosy and romantic!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Love love love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you are ever in Falmouth and you can get a table here, do it.
The atmosphere, food, service and overall experience is magical.
One of my favourite places to eat, in the world.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolMum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Small restaurant with a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the staff are great! They do only serve shellfish, there are no menus but the staff are great at going through options.
Lovely home baked bread, fresh seafood cooked to perfection. Not the fanciest restaurant - great to get a mix and share a range of shellfish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gapyahher192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Tucked down a small slipway, just off the main high street in Falmouth is a hidden gem. In fact I am not sure whether to put it on the Trip advisor site as it takes a while to get a table anyway. However the wait is worth it if you enjoy shell fish. There are only about 30 covers in two sittings and it isn't open every day of the week so you need to check.
A you open the door you are greeted with low lights and the wonderful smell of garlic. The tables and chairs are all different and so is the crockery. Wonderful.
We were greeted by very friendly and enthusiastic staff and made to feel like old friends. We were shown to a small table which we had booked three weeks prior. There was a small plate with a card with names on. Our names were shown first, as having the table for the first sitting at 6.15 pm. On the same card it had the diners arriving at 8.30pm. It is a nice touch but also a reminder that your table will be required later.
There was a blackboard above the serving counter with the days offerings. We were told that due to the gales in Cornwall that crab was off the menu, but everything else was available. We ordered scallops served in the shell to start with a large basket of bread, then we had mussels and both peeled and whole prawns and French fries as the main course. I won't describe all the styles and flavours on offer as it would spoil your surprise, however we did try each style and I can assure you that your taste buds will be in seventh heaven. We had a bottle of the white house wine, a Chilean Sauvignon which was very palatable and the bill came to 50p under £60. As soon as we need a garlic and chilli fix we will most definitely be back for more..... as long as we can get a table! We loved loved loved it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happilyretired_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel House also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Wheel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing