We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every dish a masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oliver's

Oliver's
Ranked #2 of 226 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Truro Cornwall
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Every dish a masterpiece”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Ken & Wendy have long kept Oliver's as one if the best 'go to' restaurants in Falmouth. Visited them again on Friday with 2 great friends who happen to share the same birthday and happen to have been happily married for 27years - Sandra & David you rock !!

We all had 3 courses and every single one was 'delish' !!

Only gripe was that you only had Skinners beer - boo - St Austell is far far superior & much better suited to your excellent quality cuisine !

Ken must be losing tons of weight down in the kitchen in weather as hot as it is now but keeps the high standards - we'll be back x

Helpful?
Thank Nick0demus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    40
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Please sir,can I have some more.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were in Falmouth for the weekend and booked olivers for the Friday evening after looking on the net.
We knew we had made the right choice when our landlord had his lunch
there!!!,We weren't disappointed very relaxed homely atmosphere not stuffy or potentous and the food and staff were first class
We will definitely be back and have already recommended two friends to eat there when they visit soon.
Well done guys.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a quirky, friendly restaurant”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had been told about Olivers from friends who had happened upon it during their last holiday in Cornwall. It looks a bit like a tea rooms with some wall decorations from Next, but the food is fantastic and such good value for money.

Starters were scollops, which were cooked to perfection. Main courses were venison, lobster and sea bass. The sea bass felt as if it had been cooked first, but was still really good.

Lots of chocolate in the puddings and really wonderful. The Viognier was very pleasant. We did leave feeling well fed.

We found the meal great value for the quality of the food and enjoyed great service. Now feeling guilty over the comments about the decor!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomtknowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food in Falmouth”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is our favourite restaurant in Falmouth, perfect food every time, with an excellent choice of specials meaning you will never need repeat a meal. The portion sizes are generous, and you will never leave without feeling well fed. We usaully come here for a special couples evening, but not as often as we would like. Also good for groups of friends. Service is excellent, and you are always greeted at the door with your table waiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JB200169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4.5 out of 5 but very good!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

One of our best meals in Falmouth. It has lots of rave reviews and the food quality was very good. We dined for lunch and the menu is relatively short. All flavour combinations worked well and tasted great. The hostess was very warm and friendly and definitely helps make the overall experience. The portions are large which won't be a problem for some but for me that's the one slight area for improvement; I would give a 4.5. To other reviewers that's probably a bit churlish and as Trip Advisor doesn't allow half marks, overall it gets a 5.

Helpful?
Thank hungrybrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Oliver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing