We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sea View Hotel in Cornwall”
Review of Membly Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Membly Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is ideal location for visit to Cornwall. It has plenty parking, seaview rooms, reasonably sized bar with sea view sitting area, awesome breakfast and most importantly very friendly and hospitable staff.

Free WiFi internet access is provided, hotel is very clean and well maintained. Sauna, Jacuzzi and Pool table are added bonus luxuries in this really nice hotel. We had a nice stay during Easter Bank Holiday. They also have a function hall for larger groups and is ideal location to book when you have a large coach group.

The bar serve nice hot food, sandwiches and reasonably priced drinks. Facility to have inhouse entertainment such as Bingo, Casino Night etc all entertained here.

I would definetly return to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview room. If you open the windows, you can hear the waves hitting the rocks and is a nic...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arunraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Membly Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just spent 5 days at the hotel, everything at the hotel was perfect the staff was very friendly
the food was excellent.
They came out to the coach to greet us and carried all the cases to the bedroom, on the last day we was told to leave the cases outside the bedroom door at 7am and they took them all to the coach for us.
I was sorry it wasn't a longer break but I will definately go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Golden027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent 5 days here on a personal holiday and could not have picked a better hotel.
All staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to assist you.
The restaurant overlooked the sea and offered plenty of table size options.
Food served was sourced mainly from local businesses and was really excellent and the choice of menu was very good.
Hotel also benefitted from its great location, good parking and free wifi and entertainment was also provided most nights and with the spa and swimming pool, what more could you ask for.
Can not wait till next visit, which will definitely be for a longer stay

Room Tip: To get the best view go for 2nd floor room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank altravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was by far the best coach holiday we have ever had, and we have done a lot. Hotel was great clean and tidy. Rooms small but adequate, service and food both excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic, lots of choice, and evening entertainment went down well. Would definately return as was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

No one to greet us on arrival and at reception,handed room key told room number and floor carried are own cases,already a feeling of trepidation, not a smile in sight.

Room clean although wardrobe door handle fell off and top of tap in basin, extractor had a teabag wrapper stuffed in it, I imagine to stop it vibrating, which it didn't. Very thin walls could hear draws being opened in next room etc.

Breakfast was tasty, dinner good food served hot but little choice, roast meat or a fish dish if you didn't eat fish you could get bored with roast.and very bored with the only sweet Cornish Ice cream with wafer, I did manage to get chocolate sauce with out any extra charge.

We really felt like the poor relations and a bit of an inconvenience, being on a very inexpensive coach trip, Sorry, been put off staying again very unwelcoming although staff started to thaw out by Thursday, may be they were pleased we would be leaving the next morning. Definitely would not recommend or return, just sick of Ice cream. Thank goodness Just Go know how to give great service, cant fault our drivers helpful and friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Unfortunately a side room with a tree blocking any view we might have had, seemed we had no chance o...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is more suited to budget coach parties than independent travelers.

We were met by a charming young man called Bret who not only showed us to our room but opened the lift door for us on the ground floor and then ran upstairs to open the lift door for us on the first floor!

The interior decor in the public areas was heavily patterned, tired, tatty and dated but our room looked quite modern. It had a fantastic sea view and although we had been warned that it had small en-suite shower room, we didn't realise that meant something the size of a en-suite in a touring caravan! The cheap nasty plastic seat was falling off and although they "fixed" it for us it should have gone in the skip. They boast the smallest thinnest sheets of toilet paper we have ever seen! False economy as you end up using twice as many (if not more) sheets.

We were told dinner was at 7:30 but as a coach party was due we decided to give the one sitting a miss. There were no snacks or sandwiches for supper if you had already eaten.

For breakfast we were seated at a table covered in a cheap plastic table cloth and served to fruit juice and cereal followed by a cooked breakfast. This consisted of a very small egg, a thin sausage, two slices of bacon half a tomato and a triangle of fried bread (one quarter the size of a slice of bread)! Toast arrived later but no choice of brown or white. The tea and coffee came out of flasks which were cold. I asked for fresh coffee and got a small flask of luke warm coffee. On day two we didn't bother and went into Falmouth.

On the plus side it was quite clean except under the toilet, the bed was comfortable if you like blankets and it had free wifi.

On departure we were given a bag of cheap boiled sweets for our journey which we binned. We would not stay here again, when we are on holiday we like a few luxuries not budget finishes at top prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nigel-carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I only needed to stay for one night as I was in the area for business, but I'm highly likely to come back for a longer stay.
Yes, it only has a two star rating, but it has a certain charm that you only get with a family run hotel.
The staff were fantastic - chirpy, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent quality home-cooked food, generous portions and served at lightening speed.
The rooms are modest but have everything you need and are very clean. The beds are comfy too!
Best of all are the fantastic views of the sandy beach, where I spotted wild dolphins swimming.
The location is great. I didn't get a chance to check out the local attractions, but I did find an awesome beach bar/cafe about 3 mins walk from the hotel - Gyllys Beach Cafe - which is open late, right on the sea front, serving a great selction of food and drinks.
I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,155 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membly Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membly Hall Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range: $122 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Membly Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Membly Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Membly Hall Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing