We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easter break at the maderia”
Review of Madeira Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madeira Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

just returned from easter at the maderia had great weekend lovely hotel nice people had sea view room paid extra it was well worth it had great views of pendennis castle meals were piping hot with good choices and we were waited on by dominica who was a lovely young lady we hope the hotel appreciates her as much as we did adam fox entertainer was really good he was very talented wont say much about the duo on sunday bit karaoke but some people may like it hotel doesnt dissapoint bit creaky in places but grat value for money

Room Tip: we had sea view room 14 it had great views well worth the exra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whisky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

What a perfect base for a Falmouth holiday. Happy, friendly and knowledgeable staff
from the manager to the waiters. Food was of a good standard and service was very quick. Rooms were spotlessly clean, but I think a sea view is a must. Bus stop about 50 yards away or reception will call a taxi, costs £5 into the town centre.

Room Tip: Sea View a must, we had room 36 a twin room in a perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent our first xmas away &last hotel&staff were excellant but oh the food for main course on xmas day was disgusting sloppy roast potatoes&swede+frozen sprouts the evening meal was cold meat platter which consisted of half a slice of corned beef&a sliver of gala pie not the sort of food expected on xmas day . The rest of the main meals not much better brkfst/starters/desserts no quibbles. If this is the best alpha can offer then no more. Les our coach driver was excellant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

just spent 5 days at the madeira with k.m.travel,great time had by all,staff so friendly and work very hard to make your holiday a good one,food very very good and plenty of it.had room 24 which is a big room with seaveiw and walk in shower.

Room Tip: room 24 good if you need a walk in shower,also as seaveiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank renemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Madeira Hotel was better than expected. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was better than good, a good choice every night and a chefs special every day (the steak pie had the best pastry I've had in years!) and the room was perfect,brand new beds and linen, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. The view from our room was so lovely we had views right across our bay and the castle was lit up every night. The little cafe on the sea front is worth a visit to just sit chill out and have a read by the sea with shelter from the breezes. As a smoker (there was quite alot of us on this trip) the one problem was if the weather was wet there was no area to smoke that provided shelter so although we are more than happy with the regulations we do think we should been shown some consideration. Falmouth itself was charming with so many different trips up the esturay to various places. The martime museum is worth a visit. The walk into town is manageable but if its too much there is a bus stop just round the corner. Our trip was with Alpha and as a coach company (we've done lots) were very very good, will definately go with them again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, worth paying that little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just returned from a short break in this hotel, my son & I shared a room with a sea view which was stunning (the view!), the room itself was extremely pleasant and the en-suite was the best I have had in any hotel previously.
Staff were extremely polite, notably our waiter, and whilst the food was nothing outstanding, for a 2 star hotel it was satisfactory.
For anyone wanting any sort of night life in Falmouth Bay they would be very disappointed as the hotel is situated in a very quiet area.
Overall we were extremely pleased with the hotel and would be pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 14 gives an excellent view of the whole bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just back from a week's stay at the Madeira Hotel, Falmouth. Both my husband and myself were more than pleasantly surprised at what a friendly, clean and thoroughly hospitable hotel it was. The food, for a two star rated hotel, was varied, always hot and served in a very efficient and curteous manner. In particular, our Canadian waitress looked after us exceedingly well - nothing was too much trouble for her. (She should get a bonus!). Our room, on the ground floor, was quite large with a large bathroom, (bath and shower), and a spectacular view of the sea. We would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget, but still wants to be treated like a human being.

Room Tip: Book a sea view - it's well worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Membly Hall Hotel
Membly Hall Hotel
#15 of 24 in Falmouth
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falmouth
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $41 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madeira Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madeira Hotel - Falmouth [3 Alpha & AA 3 Star]. Beautifully situated on the seafront with attractive gardens, the Madeira commands splendid views to Pendennis Castle and across Falmouth Bay. 51 bedrooms with individual heating and private shower and WC (a few also have bath). All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV with radio channels. Oak panelled cocktail bar and pleasant sun lounges with large picture windows facing the sea - delightful places to while away an afternoon. Restaurant with large dance floor and entertainment most evenings. Lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing