We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, awesome food”

Harbour Lights Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family run. Family friendly. Best harbour views of all Falmouth restaurants. Holder of the NFFF (National Federation of Fish Friers) Quality Award. All our fish is from fully sustainable sources. MSC (Marine Stewardship Council) certified restaurant. Extensive variety of fish, with local Cornish fish options always available. 100 seat restaurant and also takeaway section. Fully licensed. Free beach bucket & spade with every kids meal. Free WI-FI. Warmest of welcomes guaranteed. Thank You Pete & Sue Fraser
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, awesome food”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

A nice location with a restaurant that has great views of the harbour... always worth asking the serving staff for their recommendations

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review! Glad our knowledgeable servers could give you some recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    297
    98
    36
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This time we ate in... Much better than Mr Stein`s Place. 5* Service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

2nd Review... Having only used the ‘take away’ before really cannot fault the service, we decided to eat in this time, lovely setting over looking the busy yacht and working harbour, immaculately clean, including the windows, that look over the good view of the harbour.The glass décor and lighting is lovely and relaxing and the place airy and free from the smells of the fryer

The menu offers grilled rather than battered fish if you so wish, but we plump for the battered fish. I'm so glad we did, the batter was light and crispy and the fish was cooked perfectly. The chips were fantastic too amazing. Just the extra touch of the lemon wedge and a sprig of parsley makes all the difference. I had Cheesy Chips with my Plaice(£9.45), I don't normally like batter as it can be a bit to greasy and heavy but this was very tasty absolutely delicious. my sister had Calamari and Chips with salad (£8.95) and my partner had Haddock and Chips mushy peas were obviously 'proper' mushy peas and not from a can, (£11.95, big size) with a pint of Cornish Tribute(£4.25) it was absolutely delicious. Huge slabs of fresh fish in light crunchy batter are served piping hot and plenty of tartar sauce / tomato sauce on the table in a pot with its own spoons. None of this packet rubbish that you have to fight with the packaging. Portions come in 3 sizes to cater for all appetites.

Children are very welcomed & get a "free" bucket with their chips in & colouring sheets to keep them amused whilst waiting.

The waiting staff are very quick, willing to chat,exceptionally friendly and helpful without being intrusive and are very knowledgeable regarding the menu.
The specials on the board enhance the standard menu , with fresh Cornish fish often being featured - its depends what's been caught ! They also only serves Sustainable Fish.
The restaurant has won lot of awards - deservedly so ! It is a family business by Pete and Sue Frazer and their 4 children who all have a place in the business, and it shows. (Congrats to the lad off to Illinois on a soccer scholarship.

On the menu it states that if you are still hungry after finishing their 'generous portions' you can have more chips for free!! I was looking forward to doing this, but, Pete & Sue, you beat me!! we have a 'very healthy' appetites but could not possibly have eaten another portion of yummie chips, much as I wanted to!! Couldn`t even fit in dessert

Pay the Bill, collect your free slice of peppermint rock and smile all the way home staff & Service. 10/10 Well done. Ditch Rick Steins, come here instead.

P.S They also serve fish in gluten free batter at any time

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Everything I wanted to hear from start to finish. Thank you for an excellent review, great feedback and appreciated custom. It was a pleasure to read, and I hope we see you again soon. (A handful of mint rock awaits you :)).

All the best!

-Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you want a delicious fish and chip supper you must go here. The cosy restaurant is through the street level chip shop to the back overlooking the harbour. The traditional food is reasonably priced. Very good service with the staff friendly in this very busy popular restaurant. I would go again if visiting Falmouth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for an excellent review! Hope you'll come back to Falmouth in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were meeting relatives and met half way. The resturant let us reserve a table and we had a great meal. Lovely view of Falmouth Harbour.

I can never fault any visit here and it is our favorite place to eat in the UK.

Advice: Park at the rear. £1 after 6pm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for a great review :). I hope we stay your favourite place for a long time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The very best”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have just eaten the very best fish and chips I have had in my sixty eight years. The batter really did "melt in the mouth", and the fish was beautifully fresh and tasty. The portion size was just right - any more would have meant leaving some which would have been criminal. Service was both efficient and attentive. The atmosphere celebrated "family" and full marks to a very well run family concern. Oh, I nearly forgot - the view is just outstanding.

Thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickparris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Well that was a fantastic, in depth review and I cannot thank you enough for your generous comments. Said almost everything that we aim to give our customers, food, atmosphere...and who could forget the view?

Thank you again, great read :).

-Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Restaurant also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Lights Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing