We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so lovely...and it has awards!!!”

Harbour Lights Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 230 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family run. Family friendly. Best harbour views of all Falmouth restaurants. Holder of the NFFF (National Federation of Fish Friers) Quality Award. All our fish is from fully sustainable sources. MSC (Marine Stewardship Council) certified restaurant. Extensive variety of fish, with local Cornish fish options always available. 100 seat restaurant and also takeaway section. Fully licensed. Free beach bucket & spade with every kids meal. Free WI-FI. Warmest of welcomes guaranteed. Thank You Pete & Sue Fraser
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well after a long journey down we decided that as Harbour lights had won awards we would opt for cod and chips here...as it must be good mustn't it....
Noooooooo...we waited as they cooked the fish but was so disappointed,it was greasy to say the least,the batter was far from crunchy...more grease and flour and as for the chips well let's say the bin ate ore than we did...give it a miss...unless you like lots of grease,soggy uninspiring chips and lots of wasted food...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jewels186330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am really sorry you didn't like our Fish and Chips. If you had let us know personally on the day of purchase we would have been more than happy to provide replacement food or give you a full cash refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,389)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Lights Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,171 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Simple - first class fish and chips, fair price, lovely location. Fish and chips like you used to know - but sustainable and in a modern setting. Pop in if you are in Famlmouth.

Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks very much for reviewing The Harbour Lights.Your feed back is very important to us.We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this place due to its excellent reviews and to be honest all of us thought it a bit overated, yes the food was nice the service good, the view out onto the harbour was nice but the fish was greasy and the chips just nothing special. My main issue being they charge £11 for a large fish and chips and £9 for a regular and £1.60 for a cup of tea. There is NO justification for these prices. Value for money this place isnt ,even Rick Steins place further along was cheaper than harbour lights. Like i say a nice place just not £11 nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks very much for reviewing The Harbour Lights Restaurant.I was saddened that you didnt enjoy your visit.
We could supply cheaper fish but 7 years ago we took the stance to only sell the most sustainable fish in the ocean.Regretably there is a price premium attached.
We feel that £1.60 for a pot of tea is very reasonable (extra water is always available).With regards to your comment regarding the chips we always do check backs to ensure all is ok and only wish you had said you as we would have been more than happy to have replaced them.Again,thanks for your review as feed back (good and bad) is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A great fish and chip restaurant, good food, friendly staff be sure to visit if you are in Falmouth.

Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thankyou very much for choosing The Harbour Lights Restaurant to dine in.We are very grateful to you for leaving us such a nice review and that you enjoyed your meal.We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was in Falmouth on a romantic getaway from the US and was very excited to get some authentic take away fish n' chips. Harbour Lights did not disappoint! I got the large haddock and it was fantastic! Prepared while we waited, fresh as can be. I will say the chips were soggy and a bit limp for my taste,but the fish more than made up for it! I will be traveling back to Falmouth later this year and Harbour Lights will definitely be on my short list of spots to revisit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Restaurant also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Lights Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing