We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips”

Harbour Lights Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 229 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family run. Family friendly. Best harbour views of all Falmouth restaurants. Holder of the NFFF (National Federation of Fish Friers) Quality Award. All our fish is from fully sustainable sources. MSC (Marine Stewardship Council) certified restaurant. Extensive variety of fish, with local Cornish fish options always available. 100 seat restaurant and also takeaway section. Fully licensed. Free beach bucket & spade with every kids meal. Free WI-FI. Warmest of welcomes guaranteed. Thank You Pete & Sue Fraser
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Came here for the first time last year in a hurry as we wanted to catch a TV programme back at the hotel so this year decided to give a more measured visit (should explain that this is the fourth year in a row we've been to Falmouth after Christmas) so came on 28th December. Restaurant overlooks the harbour and has black and white photos of kids on one of the walls which are explained on a card with the menus that these are the owners kids and how they are mostly involved in the business. Decore is pleasant, staff are polite and the fish and chips are without doubt the best we've tasted since the last time we were here ;-) Toilets are spotless as well. So if you are ever in Falmouth do pay this place a visit. You won't regret it.

Thank Zendog92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thankyou so very much for your very kind words regarding The Harbour Lights Restaurant.We are so pleased that your visit to us was such a good one.Your comments will be passed onto the HL team. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Lights Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,191 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

By far the best fish & chip shop I've been to, nothing better than ordering some of the best hake & chips I've ever had & sitting in the pub with a good ale. Always clean, friendly staff & great value. An easy must for anyone in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smokey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thanks very much for your excellent review! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.Many of our take away customers take their meal to The Waterfont Bar to enjoy their fish and chips with a pint! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We ate here recently and though it was too dark to see the view it would have been lovely! The restaurant offers a good selection of fish which you can have either battered or griddled. Portions are generous and we found the regular size big enough for healthy appetites. My partner and I had hake and chips: my meal was very good but my partner found the batter a little greasy. When this was pointed out we were immediately offered an apology and a 10% discount on the bill, which we thought was very fair. This restaurant is a good choice for those who like rather up-market fish and chips in a very pleasant setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claire_walker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thankyou very much for your very honest review of The Harbour Lights.So sorry about the fish not being quite as it should have,but thankyou for still giving HL such a great write up.We like all of our customers ton leave very happy and hope that you will still come back and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Highlight of our days in Falmouth is always a trip to Harbour Lights, The Best Fish and Chips anywhere , with a view to die for , and Lovely Staff who work so hard but still manage to smile no matter how busy they are . The portions are very good , the food always hot , and we cant wait for our next Cornish Holiday to go back again, Ten out of ten for food, service and Value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Owner at Harbour Lights Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thankyou very much for giving us the best review we could wish for!! This is how we would like all our review to be.So pleased your meal was such an enjoyable one and we look forward to wecoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The chips were revolting and soggy and I ordered a large portion- they clearly gave me a medium, just in a bigger box. The fish cost just under £5 and it was a medium. Award winning fish and chips? Please tell me who gave out that award so I can check the list for other places to avoid. I also notice Rick Stein's is better value for money- I know where I'll go next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Restaurant also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Harbour Lights Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing