We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary, kitsch, comfortable and excellent customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Falmouth Townhouse
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
north devon
1 review
“Contemporary, kitsch, comfortable and excellent customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

What a fabulous, stylish hotel! The rooms were excellent, comfortable and clean with great decor. The shower was just wonderful! I was staying with a friend and next door was her sister and her young family. Great for families and people of all ages. The bar was fantastic and lively with people from outside of the hotel aswell as the guests. I believe they have just started providing dinner in the evening and going by the breakfast I would say that it would be well worth trying out! Unfortunately we were only staying for one night.....but i'm sure to be heading back soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    69
    20
    19
    17
See reviews for
21
117
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hants.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is pricey for what it is.
Towels not changed when left in bath.
No mirror or waste bin in the room, just in the bathroom.
Breakfast service a bit sluggish & first morning didn't get what I asked for.
Management not friendly - didn't introduce themselves.
However, the breakfast's are very good & served till 10.30.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Upon arriving in Falmouth and putting the car in the nearest car park downtown, we set off on foot and found the hotel quickly and easily (where we got directions into one of the few parking spots just behind the hotel). The location is terrific - just across from the maritime museum and steps away from the main street of Falmouth with shops and restaurants galore. In the afternoon we walked up to Pendennis Castle which was fantastic (including views of the bay along the walk).

I won't say that we were greeted terribly warmly, but perhaps it just took some time for the gentleman at reception to warm up to us. When we saw him the next morning, he was much more chatty about the hotel and insisted on helping us take our luggage up the drive to our car. The staff is very down to earth and seemed to be genuinely interested in how we were enjoying our stay. When the wifi was not working for us later in the afternoon, they tried very hard to help (and the problem was resolved later that night).

Prior descriptions are right on the money -- a traditional Georgian townhouse on the outside, with modern, unique decor inside. (probably as close as I've been to staying in a W hotel....with 60's interior decor). It can take a minute to get used to it, but we liked the modernist sofa in the room, ultramodern chandeliers, and unique colors. Our room was very large, overlooking the marina/museum, high ceiling, fabulous modern bathroom (the best we've had in the UK ever!!).

As noted in a prior review, our room was located just above the bar area and it did get annoying to hear thumping music until 11 pm or so. I'm not sure how that can be resolved at this point and it could really be off-putting if one was in town on business and needed some sleep. (We did call reception around 11 and they were very pleasant about turning the music down a bit.) The other issue is that we like fresh air, but with the front-facing room, you couldn't keep the window open at night -- too noisy from the bar, neighboring pubs, and regular street traffic. In warmer weather, it would be much too stuffy in the room at night unless they brought in a fan.

The hotel has not been up and running for all that long and they are still working on some refurbishments. I think the hotel has enormous potential as they work out a few kinks -- for example, the shower is huge and fantastic, but there is no shelf to put soap or shampoo on, so you have to hold it in your hand or put it on the shower floor. The hallway ourside our room clearly needed a vacuum; a few stray pieces of paper were there from the time we checked in until the time we left.

I would absolutely stay there again, especially compared to some of the older properties in town and look forward to the management getting everything exactly as they want it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

When I made my booking, I wasn't asked for a credit card number, and I wasn't sent a confirmation. Not really a problem, but unusual. But I did feel I had to phone back just to check.

The best thing about the Townhouse is the staff: very relaxed, helpful and friendly.

Our room (no. 6) was on the top floor at the back. Being south facing and at the top, it was extremely warm; this was at the end of September - heavens knows what it must be like in mid summer. This obviously isn't the hotel's fault, but putting a fan in the room would have made it much more comfortable.

The decorating of the hotel seems to be a work in progress. The windows in our room hadn't seen a lick of paint for quite some time. One wasn't secured and was smeared with putty. They were equipped with loose fitting white blinds which couldn't darken the room; if you prefer to sleep in darkness, you'll be disappointed. There were two marks in the ceiling, and the ceiling outside our room was covered in brown damp patches.

The furniture is idiosyncratic: 50s/60s chairs, table and desk. To say the desk was distressed would be putting it mildly: I'd say it was very upset. It was heavily marked and scratched.

Good points: big Sony TV; very comfortable beds; good bath and shower; dimmer switch for the bathroom; the room was very clean. The essentials are largely there; it's the detail that's lacking.

Bad points: small, cheap towels which were removed but not replaced after first night; not enough lighting in the room to allow reading or working when using the chairs; there are no mirrors in the room - just one, quite set back, in the bathroom.

They told us that they would continue the decorating program over the winter, so I'm sure the Townhouse will continue to improve. I can see this hotel appealing to some people - some of the reviews pay testament to that. But, at the moment, for others, the idiosyncrasies could prove to be a little too much.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineToTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

It's nice after a 6 hour drive down from London to arrive at a place that mixes a little eccentric modern style with very welcoming open arms. It feels like they genuinely care about making your stay really nice. Thanks guys if you're reading

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nikroope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

what an excellent hotel. the location is superb for business in the falmouth area and even better for a leisure break. the staff at the townhouse are friendly, and very helpful. the rooms are very spacious, modern and clean with wonderful bathrooms. i will stay here again when on business and for leisure when i can.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the luxury room, number 4. Unfortunately, this room is directly above the bar and faces the main street. The music (bass) thumps into the room until 1:00 a.m. The pub next door can get quite loud as people exit. You will also hear the morning activities as the complex across the street is cleaned. Otherwise, we were very satisfied. The breakfasts are lovely. Staff was very nice. The bathroom is superb. Maybe better suited for someone who doesn't mind the sound. I understand some of the earlier comments now about a bar with rooms.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolIanTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Townhouse

Property: The Falmouth Townhouse
Address: 3 Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Falmouth Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel and bar in the centre of Falmouth. Occupying a grand Georgian townhouse, overlooking Falmouth's busy seascape and marina. Kick back, relax and enjoy some of the hippest rooms in Falmouth. Ten rooms with huge beds, luxury bathrooms, flat screen televisions and all the normal hotel comforts you'd expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Falmouth Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Townhouse Hotel Falmouth
The Hotel Falmouth
The Boutique Hotel Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing