We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased with Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Falmouth Townhouse
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Pleased with Our Stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I visited Falmouth for one night and the Falmouth Town House was in a great location. We weren't disappointed. We arrived quite late in the evening but were greeted by a very helpful young man on reception. We were in Room 7 and it was very pleasant. The decor was very modern and the bathroom was also up to standard. We enjoyed a comfortable night, only slightly marred by the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night. The next morning the staff were most apologetic about this. We had a lovely breakfast served by a very cheerful and friendly waiter and we checked out. It did the job perfectly for us and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xangrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    71
    21
    21
    24
See reviews for
23
124
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for one night last weekend & because we arrived early managed to get one of their parking spaces (they only have 3 or 4) which was very handy. Superb location directly opposite Rick Stein's restaurants etc. at the harbour. We ate at The Shack which is also opposite and a must for seafood fans. Our room at the townhouse was a good size and had a brand new bathroom. Breakfast menu is extensive and the informal setting for Breakfast around the bar area is really quite nice. The guys who serve breakfast were very friendly and chatty and made us feel very welcome. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Townhouse hotel in Falmouth last weekend. The hotel was great, the staff very friendly and very nice. Our room was spacious, with a huge lovely bed and the bathroom was just FAB! Breakfast in the morning was excellent, lots of choices, very well cooked and as usual the staff were very polite and attentive......ONE DOWNSIDE.....as this was the yearly Falmouth Oyster festival there was a lot of people there.....a lot of loud and drunk people [although all friendly and some very funny too!]....and therefore a lot of noise...would i stay there again - YES; would i recommend this hotel to friends - YES...so if you are planning a weekend or a break in Falmouth consider staying in the Townhouse hotel providing that you don't mind a bit of noise :o)

Room Tip: not suitable for the disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very convenient for the town and harbour, a laid back hotel with friendly service, the rooms with contemporary style, we had room seven with a great view over the harbour, the room was comfortable, a large bed and a bathroom with bath and shower and plenty of hot water. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party in Falmouth and really enjoyed it.

We stayed in one of the superior rooms with views of the harbour (room 4). It was spacious and vintage retro (rather than boutique-y) in decoration with lovely high ceilings which we liked. The bed was large and one of the comfiest we've stayed in. There wasn't too much noise from the road at night although being so well-located to town there's a lot of footfall outside. We made the most of a lovely big bath (tip: give it plenty of time to run!) and the toiletries. The shower was powerful and there was hot water aplenty.

Breakfast was really good, both days and remarked on by the 4 of us who ate together in the morning. They were very accommodating with choices and drinks and papers to read. Service was consistently friendly and helpful - from checking in, to ordering cabs, to maps, to making a good G&T.

All in all it was a great stay and £130 a night seemed reasonable for the quality of staff, food, location and room. As a weekend hotel it was perfect although if we were looking to stay longer in Cornwall we'd have gone for a cheaper alternative or hired a cottage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sah1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel prior to some camping/diving days down near the Lizard. Last day of hot showers and comfy beds...at least we had 1 out of 2! We paid £80 per night which was less than the advertised rate, and stayed in Room 8 which was apparently the 'box room'. So, review is:
Good parts:
- the hotel ideally situated for a night out in Falmouth
- Room 8 was actually a decent size considering it was described as the box room by someone I spoke to and you could look over the harbour
- breakfast was excellent and served by someone who was very welcoming (I think this may have been the owner/manager)
- has free wi-fi
- shower was hot and had some power in it!

And the bad parts:
- hotel is tired looking – couple of examples were the doors to rooms had paint chipping from them and there were letters missing from some, and in our room the side tables had bubbled/chipped paint, the shower tray was falling apart, and the toilet roll holder was missing so just leaving a space on the wall
- some of the decor feels oppressive, particularly the blue going up through the stairs (little natural light), so the hotel doesn’t feel light and airy
- there are only 3 parking spaces in their car park and they have at least 10 rooms (I think) so expect to pay the car park charges over the road!
- the staff when we arrived didn’t inspire us with confidence that the hotel was run well and the reception again looked tired (paint scrapped off the wall at the back) and unprofessional (its a small thing but there was just a computer and a pad which had doodles all over it!)
- there is no air conditioning in the rooms – we asked for a fan before we went out for the evening sensing it might be warm on the top floor even though the air temp that day was only in its late teens. The same member of staff who didn’t inspire us earlier couldn’t say whether they had one but we told her we’d seen one of the floor below. Needless to say no fan appeared in our room, and I had a terrible night’s sleep! The duvet would have been great in the winter but just too heavy for the summer months, and there wasn’t a sheet which I could have slept under. In the end, at some early hour of the morning, I trundled downstairs to retrieve the fan which was thankfully still there! (this was probably our biggest issue)

Overall I thought the hotel was expensive for what it was and an average stay. It just needs some improvements in areas and then it could be the hotel it wants you to think it is…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was fine (apart from the fire alarm setting off due to a defect). The room was well decorated and had everything we needed to make our stay pleasant. I agree that it wasn't quite the boutique hotel we expected having seen the website but.. The beds were extremely comfortable, the range of bath toiletries on offer very nice. Our room was on the first floor so you got a bit of noise from the pub and billards players downstairs so go for the higher rooms if possible. Car parking facilities right opposite and not too expensive. Very friendly service and lovely breakfast. Would stay there again actually. Not a bad price either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falmouth Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Townhouse

Property: The Falmouth Townhouse
Address: 3 Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Falmouth Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel and bar in the centre of Falmouth. Occupying a grand Georgian townhouse, overlooking Falmouth's busy seascape and marina. Kick back, relax and enjoy some of the hippest rooms in Falmouth. Ten rooms with huge beds, luxury bathrooms, flat screen televisions and all the normal hotel comforts you'd expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Falmouth Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Townhouse Hotel Falmouth
The Hotel Falmouth
The Boutique Hotel Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing