We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Marigold

Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Position on the cliff The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front of property
Position on the cliff
The garden
The garden
Living room
Living/dining room
Living room
Living/dining room
Living/dining room
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Life Guards at Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay
Nearby Rame Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lea J
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a great place to stay for accessing cornwall and the views are amazing uninterrupted and beautiful.

The accommodation is 5* and has everything it's home from home. We have been on holiday 3 times here now and it never disappoints. It's is great value for money holiday

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the home was very well equipped for the stay
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Lea J. It is a pleasure to share Marigold with you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back for stay number four sometime soon! Lisa & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence...
1 review
“The perfect place for a quiet Cornish getaway”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely perfect. Stylish, comfortable and very well equipped. Incredible sea view location with access to outstanding and (for Cornwall) quiet beaches. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Cornwall.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you for your kind words Mr E. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Marigold!
Lisa & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiexplo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The BEST exotic marigold !! Tips below.”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I hate myself leaving this review because more people will get to visit this place and we may not have the same place available again! However, I want to let others know about this beautiful gem of a place.

Location - It's located in a meadow, overlooking whitsand bay. By road, the place is down a private road that extends almost all the way to property (around 20 yards away) where you can unload your stuff and you have to park your vehicle on the military road. I was initially worried however it was safe as long as wheels are off the road. Beach is close by, a steep walk further down (from the cliff top cafe - take downwards U path turn) that leads to the base of the cliff from where you take steps down to the beach. We were with a baby, most of the times in the sling due to uneven surfaces around.

Facilities - Everything you expect at your home is there in this chalet. From PS3, DVD player, TV to internet, to kitchen utensils, hot showers! We did not miss anything from the kitchen even, they had already placed milk, cooking oil and basics in the kitchen for our visit.

Neighbors were lovely, a very quiet location again! And above all, owners been great, and were in touch via text.

Going by the area tips for good, there are some good local options for good. Hardly 20 yards up is cliff top cafe. They do breakfasts, sandwiches, cakes, teas. You won't find chips and soups there that were my observations from the menu.
In the village, there are a number of other choices. Around whistand bay, we visited 'The canteen at maker's heights'. it's defo worth the visit as food is as fresh as you can get and the location is good! There is an indian in the village - Millbrook curry place, it was good we tried saag and daal , the least risky options!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Marigold!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D
1 review
“You can't help but relax in this lovely chalet with fantastc views”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Marigold is well equipped with all you need and more. The chalet is very comfortable and modern. The location is great if you want to explore Cornwall. There is also a beach nearby and its popular for coastal walks. We have been 4 times and have enjoyed visiting all the lovely villages and harbours and also indulged in several cream teas. There are plenty of places to eat out or just stay at the chalet, have a picnic in the garden and enjoy the stunning views. I am looking forward to my next visit and would recommend a stay here - it's wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chalet was so well equipped and thought had been given to visitors comfort
Liked least: I don't heve any issues to mention
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Mary. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Lisa & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulatt
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is something magical about Marigold ...”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I cannot recommend Marigold highly enough. Since discovering the chalet over two years ago we have just returned from our sixth visit. Marigold is stylishly equipped with everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. Whitsand Bay is stunningly beautiful. It's a perfect location for walking. Whether you choose to take a stroll along the miles of beautiful beach with natural rock formation (no lines of sun loungers here) or join the South West Coastal Path close to the chalet. Marigold is also well located to explore the whole of Cornwall. We have not visited the same place twice in our six stays. I am a tad hesitant in writing this review for fear that Marigold will get fully booked and I will lose my Cornish sanctuary. Book a stay, try it, there is something magical about Marigold.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to return home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Mr & Mrs B. It is always a pleasure to share Marigold with you both. We look forward to welcoming you back for stay number seven sometime soon. Lisa & Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2019
Thank you for your kind words Thomas. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max-HSV
Lubeck, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2019 for a stay in May 2019
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2019
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing