We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky building with a friendly staff in a safe location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Encampment, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky building with a friendly staff in a safe location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a great, safe place for solo female travelers. The location is convenient to downtown Chester and an easy walk to the rail station. My stay lasted 2 weeks and I found the place, contrary to other negative reviews, clean and welcoming. If you are looking for generic, big-box sterility, you won't find it at the Backpackers. However, if you want a friendly staff, interesting guests, winding staircases, and a home away from home this is the place for you. The building is old, but is undergoing improvements without losing its charm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seifertks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    12
    7
    17
See reviews for
3
17
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Spent one night here, and was upgraded from a dorm bed to a double room by myself because the dorm was taken by a large group who wanted it to themselves. Average hostel with rooms that are kept clean, but not shiny.

If you're used to hostels, this isn't likely to surprise you. From the minute you walk in and see the Australian road signs in the reception, you pretty much know what you're in for. This is made for backpackers, by backpackers. Decent value about 10 minutes from the city centre and the train station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stesath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

After reading the the reviews on this hostel I very nearly didn't book, some really bad and some really good, I couldn't figure it out. Anyway, I rang up and the chap was really helpful, so we just booked for the one night.

This building is a former pub, it's pretty from the front, although it's on a busy'ish main road. There are a lot of small'ish rooms, corridors, etc but that's what I liked about it. I like the kitchen which was clean, tidy and appealing. You have the roof terrace which catches the sun in the afternoon/evening, OK the chairs are weathered a bit, but they are outside! There's the lounge at the front, sofa's, TV, books to borrow, video's etc and free WIFI.

We opted for a twin room at the back, rather than a double at the front so that it was quieter, but then I'm used to living in a village. The rooms and not that big, but it has a small ensuite, a kettle, tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, a wardrobe, side light by the bed, etc. No it's not modern, this is an old building, the beds are a bit warn, but for £40 a night for this, it's a bargain. I really don't know what some people are harping on about this place for, it is a hostel, it's one of the best equipped I've been to - it is not a flashy B&B or a hotel. Most hostels just have a steel bunk bed and that's it! They do have shared rooms too, they are all neat and tidy.

So, I hope I've made some corrections here about this place. It is a hostel, it's cheap and very cheerful, the staff are great, it's really chilled out, it's really close to town, Chester is a great small city. This is not like a YHA, it is a lot less regimented and in my opinion much nicer.

I wish them all the very best and thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad_Dog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
behonest1
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Simply horrid. Like a prison in Iraq. The place needs to be inspected by health and environment. Should be closed down. Showers are absolutely FILTHY ! Owners should be ashamed. Great opportunity to open a competing hostel.

Will be reporting this horrid dive to the authorities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank behonest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Machynlleth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

A nice little hostel, very well located in Chester. The staff is extremely welcoming, and makes up for the rooms being a bit small and packed. The shared room has books, magazines and VHS, and there's a membership for the DVD rental place next door.
No breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroMeunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Quote: "A hostel is good quality budget accommodation that offers a comfortable night's sleep in friendly surroundings at an affordable price." Not Chester Backpackers!
The hostel is situated in a grubby and rundown ex pub. You enter via the old bar area, now a tiny TV lounge - 2 people on a sofa took up the TV viewing space. The videos were old bargain basement copies of 'Friends' etc., and ditto the books.
We were shown to our 'private ensuite twin room' (41 pounds per night ), which consisted of a set of decrepit bunk beds which filled the entire room, with a tiny shower, toilet and handbasin area boxed off of it.
The bunk mattresses were 'covered' with threadbare, bobbly old 'mattress protecters', and a worn old duvet cover, sheet and pillowcase were there for the guest to make up their own bed. A thin duvet and a flat pillow made up the bedding.
Once in the lower bunk it was clear that the frame of the upper bunk was sagging and bent out of shape. My average sized husband was afraid to sleep on it, in case it collapsed in the night and killed me. Fortunately, the proprietors had provided a narrow camp bed and an extra bunk mattress (to enable them to charge 61 quid for the 'room')so my husband slept on that in the 3x6 ft entry into the room. It immediately sagged into a taco, almost enclosing him completely.
The shower room was grimy, with mold on the wall behind the door and around the toilet pedestal. Use of towels cost 50p each. The light was broken and there was no toothmug in the holder.
As the room was at the very top of the building, a kettle and tea/coffee supplies had been thoughtfully provided. Unfortunately, the longlife milk cartons were so old that some had evaporated without being opened and the others were rancid.
The double glazing units were easily openable for cleaning, but they looked as if they had never been cleaned, and nor had the windows.
Fellow residents were quiet and considerate, however next door had apparently gone out and left the toilet ventilator on which, due to the thin stud walls, sounded like a jet taking off until they came back and switched it off.
After an uncomfortable and restless night we duly stripped the beds again, as required, and delivered our used bedding and towels to the laundry room.
We could have used the 'outdoor terrace' - a tiny flat roof with a few rusty old garden chairs - but decided to go on our way.
For very little more (and possibly less) money, I could have stayed somewhere clean, in a proper bed, and had a decent night's sleep. If this is your objective too, give Chester Backpackers a very wide berth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mouldylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Loved this hostel, my husband and I really had a great time in Chester and thanks to the staff. They helped us with lots of knowledge on Chester to make sure we enjoyed the city.

The hostel is small but very clean. The staff are super friendly. The rooms are tidy and you get a great nights sleep. Perhaps some reading light s would also help though.

THank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippietraveler1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Backpackers

Property: Chester Backpackers
Address: 67 Boughton, Chester CH3 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chester Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chester Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing