We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for private room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for private room”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed in the double en suite for one night. Booked late notice and was still able to get a fair price. The owner was helpful in recommending local restaurants and attractions. Lent me a hair dryer for free for our stay.
Located a short walk from the town center but restaurant options were slim.
The room had no AC so we opened the window at night: the hotels on a busy street so it was a but noisy and bright. The bathroom was small but there were clean towels and soap, and it was clean. The bed linens were clean, the room was small but what we needed for a quick stay over.
The rooftop garden was beautiful and gave a view of the city. Parking was free and available at the back of the building.
did not use laundry, kitchen, or other hostel amenities.

Would definitely stay here again if value was the most important determining factor.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellynrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    12
    7
    17
See reviews for
3
17
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were forced to sleep on the couch in the reception area as our room would not open. Prior to this the owner was aggresive towards us and blamed us for the door malfunctioning. There is a phone number for emergencies and as it was 01:30 am we tried calling it but got no answer. Eventually the owner arrived and was completely obnoxious and at one stage asked us to "go outside" so we can settle this. Upon checking out I recieved an email to say I have been charged for the lock. AVOID this hostel at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ciarans900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and a group of friends stayed here it was so dirty the shower was filthy, the Lounge area is dirty too!! I wouldn't stop here again !!! A plus for this hostel is it's not far from the centre but over than that it's not a nice place at all!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kw5lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
277 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a "stag weekend. 18 of us were put in the "Large Dorm". It was amazingly impressive how they managed to fit 9 bunk beds in such small area the downside of the bed configeration was that one was in front of the fire escape door and there was nowhere to put any of your belongings.18 people putting their clothes on the floor results in a giant jumble.

The guy who greeted us was OK and laid down the rules about remembering the door codes and not being sick on your bed.

There was only one toilet for 18 people. This was not good as you can imagine. There was a shower next to the men's toilet but the water just dribbled and was avoided by must of our party. The unisex shower was alot better.

The position of the hostel was excellent. 5 minutes to the main street.

My problem is that I have never stayed in a hostel before and I am not sure if this hostel is typical. It falls far short of a Travelodge and is more expensive. However I am not sure if stag groups are welcome everywhere.

I would definitely not go back to this hostel or any other

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshire174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a horrible place. The manager Al was rude and arrogant, the place was dirty and dingy. I know you get what you pay for but this place really isn't worth paying for. Spend your money elsewehere and get somethiong semi decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ninhtheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

just had a belting weekend away in chester, stayed here at the backpackers as we was on a tight budget and we was pleased with the accomodation, clean room, hot shower, fresh bedding. tv and radio in room where of a quality we wasnt expecting. Al the owner was friendly and well worth asking his views on what to do and where to eat. Ok, we had to climb the cheshire version of the north face of the eiger to get to the room but hey it was all part of the character of the place. will deff book again if we go to chester in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked this for a budget overnight stay in Chester. Was a bit worried on first going in as the main reception area was a bit grim and dirty, with lots of people plus a staffie hanging around but my room was great.

I had a choice of 2 rooms and chose one with a single bed, en suite and a tv. There were no windows so no natural light but for the very short space of time I spent there that was no problem. The room was clean, and warm, bedding fresh and the bed really comfortable. There was a shower, toilet and sink in the en suite which looked like it had been refurbished recently and was better than my shower at home, towels were provided which I hadn't expected. Better than all of that there was free wi fi!

There were kitchen facilities and free tea and coffee, which although I didn't use, looked clean and tidy.

The hostel is 5 mins walk from the city centre and I felt safe walking to and from in the dark (avoided the subway at night though). You get a special key fob to get in and out of the building as well as your room key and it felt secure. I expected there to be a lot of noise in the hostel, the walls are quite thin, but had no trouble at all. The manager was friendly and helpful.

It's not the Ritz but it doesn't set out to be and for bargain price I paid it absolutely did the job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Backpackers

Property: Chester Backpackers
Address: 67 Boughton, Chester CH3 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chester Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chester Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing