We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent steak and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Eagle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Eagle
Ranked #20 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent steak and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Found the Golden Eagle by chance, called in for a pint and stayed for the evening. A stones throw from the hotel, dark and bohemian. I ordered a rare steak which was cooked perfectly to my taste with a decent amount of fries and salad on the side. A local restauranteur who happened to be at the bar assured me that the sunday roast is one of the best in Chester so I've made a mental note. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was marvellous.
My only concern is that it is listed as a B+B on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Golden Eagle is now under new ownership and has recently undergone a scheme of refurbishment. Accommodation is no longer available but the public bar serves an excellent choice of draught and real ales, offers an extensive wine list and serves one of the best Sunday roasts in Chester. For more information please visit www.facebook.com/theeaglechester

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDW2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Great service from Phi and Dee, from our initial telephone booking,our subsequent arrival in Chester and throughout our stay untill our departure. Our stay felt similar to staying as guests at a family members home.
The location is ideal, to explore Chester,within the old city walls in a quiet location,just 2mins to its city walls,racecourse,river and shops.
Parking was free and the car forgotten until ready to leave following a fullcooked English breakfast with cereals and toast and huge pots of coffee and tea,yum ,yum.
We would definatley return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marvelmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Great location, 2 mins from shops. The owners Dee and Phil made us very welcome, excellent breakfast! Free car parking, we just parked up and didn't have to worry about the car. Great weekend, would definetly go back.
Ps. Don't touch the calendar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (JOKe Phil will understand)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetrumbellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

What a gem of a place run by 2 fantastic people Phil and Dee. We have stayed and gone back numerous times. Great location about 2 mins walk to the centre of town. It is a 14 century pub with plenty of history and character. The pub is close to all historic sights and the wall walk. Opposite Chester racecourse, and a few strides away from all the fab shops. Chester has it all and this is the place to stay! You will not be dissapointed!

  • Liked — the friendly staff, owners and bar staff!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle

Property: Golden Eagle
Address: 18 Castle Street, Chester CH1 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Eagle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of Chester is one of the city's best loved public houses. Within a minutes walking distance of the Grosvenor Museum, Chester Castle and the world famous Chester Race Course. Set away from the main shopping centre in a quiet secluded, picturesque back street frequently used as a set for the filming of period dramas. Recently refurbished three double en-suite rooms with a quirky laid back charm. The perfect stopping place to discover the city's hidden charms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Golden Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing