We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goshawk

The Goshawk
Ranked #84 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Warrington, cheshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Goshawk has it all, great staff, great facilities for children in the grounds, a bowling green and most of all fabulous food. This is a hidden gem, off the beaten track. We went for Sunday lunch and by 12.20pm it was full and no wonder the food was outstanding, the staff were attentive even though they were packed out. We will definitely go back, well done to everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    130
    64
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Four of us lunched here today and having read the reviews I was expecting us to run into dinner time! None of it, the staff could not have been more attentive. They were very professional, organised and hard working. The landscaping outside is exceptional, very spacious, modern and comfortable and you get the impression that The Goshawk has benefitted from a great deal to investment, staff training included. The food was excellent, not cheap but top quality so no complaints.
Looking forward to a return visit, I think the train is a good way to get there, the station in 30yds away and the beers were very inviting.
Congratulations to The Goshawk, it was a lovely lunch and afternoon, thank you

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went there to celebrate our First year anniversary since getting married. The Pub and the décor are very nice and is in a very pleasant setting.

However we sat down at around 19:00 on Saturday night and was surprised how quiet it was, the service was very slow and after ordering our drinks they finally arrived after about 20 minutes having ordered our meals. When the starters arrived they were disappointing my wife’s leek and potato soup was very bland and she had to put half a ton of salt in to make it taste of anything. I had the Goats cheese which was fine.

Mains took around another 40 minutes to arrive, the wife had the Pork which again wasn’t very inspiring. I had the Chicken Caesar salad which again was distinctly average and had no wow factor.

We decided to pass on Deserts paid and left. The waiter who looked after us was young but tried really hard and we tipped accordingly. The bill came to £60 which seemed OTT bearing in mind what we had and the quality.

My feedback although by no means the Goshawk being a bad pub is that they aspire to be a top pub with excellent food, I would disagree with this as the food seems to 3* and the prices do not reflect this. I would use the Analogy of one of the Wags you see in Marbella looking very nice but when you scratch beneath the surface there is no substance and very underwhelming.
More imagination needed foodwise to make it a go to destination.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G0urmet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delightful location, attentive friendly service and good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived on bicycle, somewhat dishevelled on an astonishingly hot saturday lunch time....our need for fast rehydration was met with aplomb (and ample ice). The Goshawk was fairly quiet but service was fast, friendly and attentive. We sat outside overlooking the bowling green and enjoyed a delightfully reviving lunch. One or two improvements could be made to the cooking: asparagus and Nantwich blue salad somewhat lacking on the latterly cheese front, onion rings definitely home-made (80:20 batter to onion ratio). I was surprised to find the caesar salad came with marinaded anchovies rather than salted, but I must admit I was won over; I am not convinced they would go with the chicken option, but on a hot day they were absolutely fabulous with my (perfectly cooked) salmon. All in all a very enjoyable lunch and highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swillbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family lunch”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A party of 6 adults and 3 children went for lunch on Sunday 30/6//2013. The food was very good; it was served by courteous staff and enjoyed in pleasant surroundings. We will definitely go back again and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends and family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshiretraveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goshawk also viewed

 

Been to The Goshawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing