We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation in Chester”
other travelers have booked this property
Private parking, 1.5km Chester centre, sleeps 5/6 in lovely town house. Hotel linen & towels, wifi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private parking, 1.5km Chester centre, sleeps 5/6 in lovely town house. Hotel linen & towels, wifi
Accommodation is arranged over 3 floors at and is very light and spacious. Welcome to Chester and great family accommodation for your stay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Private parking, 1.5km Chester centre, sleeps 5/6 in lovely town house. Hotel linen & towels, wifi
Accommodation is arranged over 3 floors at and is very light and spacious.
Welcome to Chester and great family accommodation for your stay.
Middle floor bedroom showing twin bed option
Middle floor bedroom showing king size bed option
The downstairs bedroom is cool in and restful in summertime - cosy on winter nights
If you like to cook while you're away, you'll find everything you need here
The upstairs 'family' bathroom has a bath and shower over
Find time in your holiday for a long relaxing bath
Family bathroom upstairs
The large TV lounge has comfy furnishings to sink into at the end of a busy day out.
The whole house enjoys a sense of uncluttered light and space - and a welcome change from home.
Downstairs has a walk-in spa style wet-room
Step out into a bustling community with local shops and cafes 'on the doorstep'.
The Village Lodge is a traditional Cheshire Brick town house dating from 1875.
Chester is one of the UK's foremost heritage cities with so much to experience!
Take a walk or cycle along the River Dee for a summer picnic in the park or the Meadows
The nearby city centre is stunning by night it's ancient streets come to life.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mattlim92
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation in Chester”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Amanda was a great host that provided very clear instructions on where to find the house and where to find keys/wifi/etc. She also recommend great locations to visit on or holiday and the house was filled with tourist information on nearby attractions.

The house was amazing, very spacious and clean (plenty of towels and blankets in each room). Loved the old school radio in the dining room.

Only minor feedback was there was no shampoo or body wash in the showers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for your helpful review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed that there wasn't shampoo. This is not something which I've ever supplied as it's such a personal preference with a vast range of products.
I supply Carex for handwashing and showering but I don't provide the kind of 'minatures' you'll find in hotels.
Thank you for your positive comments on the comforts of house and all the information I was able to help with. I'm really glad you had a good stay. Have great summer, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryMarga...
Feltwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable Town House”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house was comfy, cozy and perfect fit for our family of 5. Everything was clean and ready for our use. Amanda (the owner) even had milk and cookies waiting for us! Perfect location for our Chester tours and our drives into Northern Wales. Will use again when we are back in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you Mary. I'm really glad the house worked out well for you and you're definitely welcome to stay again the next time you're travelling to Chester and North Wales. Thanks for being great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S
New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, well situated house”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Village Lodge was everything we had hoped, well equipped, well situated, beautifully decorated. Amanda was available to answer our questions. Only small problem: as an 80 year old I took the self contained flat downstairs, which was on the level with the door from parking, however it as virtually a basement and as such tended to be a bit musty. Problem for anyone with allergies. Stairs to rest of the house quite steep but had hand rail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor.
Liked least: Musty small in downstairs (basement) bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great property, fabulous location.
Liked least: Traffic noise in basement room but we do live in the countryside so not used to any noise but birdsong!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you Angela for your very enthusiastic comments. I'm glad the house and location worked well for your holiday in Chester. You were great guests and you're very welcome to return.
Very best wishes
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert D
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great weekend at the village lodge, lovely property only 15 mins walk to centre of Chester, would recommend and we are looking at a return visit soon.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you Robert. You're more than welcome to stay again the next time you come for a break in Chester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi T
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
“Spotlessly clean, convenient for 3 generations of family”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The property was spotlessly clean and well cared for. Amanda tried very hard to solve problems with the TV as quickly as possible. The property was central to both nearby stores for groceries and other necessities and a short distance into the heart of Chester.

We were very pleased with the convenience and had a really nice time.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Thank you Heidi for your helpful review; I'm so very glad that your big family trip to Chester worked out so well. Thank you also for leaving payment for the UK mobile phone service (much appreciated in loose change too as I never have enough when I need it).
It was a pleasure to host your stay and I'm sorry we had a an unforeseeable problem with the downstairs TV at the beginning.
Best wishes to all your family, I think your mum is an amazing traveller for her age and I enjoyed chatting with her during my visit.
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin M
Portglenone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house used for a corporate booking”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were working in the Chester area and needed accommodation. The house is beautiful and has excellent facilities making it an easy transition from home to home. Amanda the owner is very helpful and friendly. We had a weekly clean included which she organised for us and it worked out really well. The extra bathroom was really useful too!
We would definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the extra bathroom and living areas
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
Thank you so much for adding your review and for being fantastic guests. G&K are welcome to stay anytime I can help with your accommodation in Chester.
Sincere good wishes
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing