We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Upstairs at The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstairs at The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Upstairs at the Grill is a split-level Manhattan-style steakhouse and intimate cocktail bar located in Chester City Centre. Open Monday to Thursday from 5pm and from 12pm Friday, Saturday and Sunday, we offer our guests the opportunity to explore our selection of locally sourced dry aged beef and extensive wine list. We look forward to welcoming you to Upstairs at the Grill.Upstairs At The Grill is available for a range of private parties, birthday parties, working lunches, business meetings or wedding receptions. Whether an intimate table of 2, party of 8 or an all-out celebration for 80, we’re here to help.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a fab place the steaks are amazing !!
The place itself is so gorgeous and the staff are very attentive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,796
    299
    116
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godmanchester, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An oasis of good service and wonderful food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My girlfriends and I went to Upstairs at The Grill last Saturday and it was a wonderful experience from the moment we walked in until we left. We received a warm welcome and were taken upstairs to the lovely cosy bar. We were served water and given drinks menus which had a fantastic and unique selection of cocktails. I particularly enjoyed my treacle and pineapple Mai Tai. We were shown the steaks on offer with a very informative description of all the cuts. We ordered our steaks and wine and relaxed and enjoyed our drinks until we were shown to our table with our wine decanted and waiting. When our steaks arrived we were asked to check they were cooked exactly to our liking which was one of the many considerate touches. The food was absolutely delicious as was the wine. We had a lovely evening feeling very well looked after and I would recommend Upstairs at The Grill to anyone who values service and a good steak. There were other options but we were a group of steak lovers!! We will be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Went last night 28th June for our wedding anniversary. It was Races night so was really busy in Chester but the restaurant was overbooked and we weren't rushed which was a pleasant surprise.

Arrived and we were given the option of sitting upstairs in the bar for a drink before our meal which we did. The bar is beautifully decorated and has a lot if nice touches.

We were then taken downstairs for our meal. An anniversary card was on our table for us, another nice touch.

We both had beef carpaccio with Parmesan to start, a Tbone and rump on the bone and cheese to finish. All beautiful!

Only bugbear of the evening was that I had to ask for another drink at the table but can appreciate they were fairly busy.

Would definitely return but you need to book quite far in advance!

Helpful?
Thank Liann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Went there last night and had the most amazing experience. Not only were the steaks incredible but the service was second to none. Would strongly recommend this restaurant bit bool early!
Tim and Tracey

Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just visiting Chester for a couple of nights and we were lucky enough to get an early table last night...staff were very welcoming and attentive and the meal was without doubt superb. Steaks were excellent, cooked just to our liking. Thanks very much for a lovely meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_H_13411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at The Grill also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing