We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Place”

Upstairs at The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstairs at The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Upstairs at the Grill is a split-level Manhattan-style steakhouse and intimate cocktail bar located in Chester City Centre. Open Monday to Thursday from 5pm and from 12pm Friday, Saturday and Sunday, we offer our guests the opportunity to explore our selection of locally sourced dry aged beef and extensive wine list. We look forward to welcoming you to Upstairs at the Grill.Upstairs At The Grill is available for a range of private parties, birthday parties, working lunches, business meetings or wedding receptions. Whether an intimate table of 2, party of 8 or an all-out celebration for 80, we’re here to help.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb Place”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked the same day for the evening and were fortunate to get in. We opted for this place due to the excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The staff are very efficient and polite and the range of steak and accompaniments were outstanding. The steak board is a nice touch to explain the cuts of meat and ours was cooked perfectly with excellent triple cooked chips and onion rings. It is not a cheap night though but it is worth the treat. The deserts we had were excellent too.

Overall highly recommended, enjoy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LordEddardStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,773
    294
    115
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Superb night out - more than a Steak Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We hired their upstairs room for my son's 21st. Six of us spanning three generations. Attentive service. The starters and puds were superb but the steak .... out of this world. Truly a taste sensation. Brilliant evening - highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank St0neyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A restaurant that is serious about steak”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very good restaurant that is serious about steak. They offer a number of different cuts, both on and off the bone. In some cuts you can order different sizes. And if you ask for a steak medium rare it comes medium rare, not overcooked as so often happens.

Excellent customer service. They took us upstairs first to have a pre-dinner drink (even if we didn't want one!), called us by name throughout the evening. Good atmosphere. Unhurried but attentive. Food was excellent.

BUT I only gave it 4 stars as I actually had a better steak a couple of days earlier in Sergio's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent food & presentation, Extremely attentive assistants without being obtrusive within a lovely setting and atmosphere

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmav76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhuddlan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went here with friends and it didn't disappoint! We were taken to the bar upstairs n had drinks while a team member came to talk to us about each different steak, he had them all on a board so we could see what was right for us. Best service and steak I have ever had, is so worth the money and can't wait to go again

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmao98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at The Grill also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing