We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but draughty restaurant”
Review of The Blackhouse Grill - Chester - CLOSED

The Blackhouse Grill - Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $112
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food but draughty restaurant”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food was brilliant. Three courses, no complaints. Like the options of specials - lobster and chips for £20. Huge portion of fish and chips.
Avoid sitting in the half of the restaurant near the door - there is a constant draught below knee level which is quite unpleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    253
    123
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really really very good”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Fantastic food, fantastic service... We hung around after our meal for another bottle of wine and didn't feel rushed out at all. The only reason that I haven't scored it excellent was the dessert. We both had dessert and both of the were bland, they just weren't of the same standard as the start enter and main which were infallible. Improving the quality of the pudding, making it feel less like an after thought would be my only improver really.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Popped into Chester on way home from Cardiff and I'm I glad I did ! My wife and I got the roast beef for two. Excellent food, wonderful service, need to stop off here more often !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just as we expected. We will be back!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was our first time eating here yesterday. we had booked our table for 5pm. We both had the fillet steak, mine was medium cooked and my missus had hers rare. The steaks were perfect, we both had chips which were really nicely made and both had a sauce each which topped the meals off perfectly. Service was very good, the waiter was very knowledgeable about how to have the steak cooked, as she wasnt quite sure! It was all finished off with a lemon sorbet. Perfect.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Looks good on the outside and does not disappoint you when you walk through the grand entrance. Food is of a high standard and the staff are very good.

Helpful?
Thank jonesy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackhouse Grill - Chester also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing