We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Jules

Chez Jules
Ranked #32 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chez Jules is a bustling French restaurant, full of character, located in the heart of Chester. Set in Chester's old Fire Station, Chez Jules is a warm, welcoming and friendly restaurant in beautiful surroundings. Serving the very best in fresh food, using only the finest ingredients, you couldn't ask for a better venue. Soon after opening in 1997, Chez Jules quickly gained an enviable reputation as one of the busiest, most exciting and consistent restaurants in Chester! Chez Jules menus change every day to ensure we are consistently producing the finest, most imaginative fresh food at very reasonable prices. We look forward to welcoming you soon...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A favourite in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Its a while since we've been to Chez Jules but it didn't disappoint. 4 of us visited on Tuesday evening, The Tuesday evening menu comes with a bottle of wine per person, 2 had 3 courses and 2 had 2 courses with wine bill came to £40 and it was delicious. I had sea food salad followed by vegetable stroganoff . The atmosphere was buzzing , wonderful evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westie034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    390
    129
    66
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Chez Jules never fails to please. Its our favourite for a cheap and cheerful lunch when shopping. Warm welcome, great value and lovely food. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food - great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Managed to get a cosy table for two at 8pm on a Friday evening to celebrate my 40th birthday. Absolutely cannot fault this restaurant! The staff were friendly and professional, the food was outstanding with everything clearly freshly cooked to order. The prices were very reasonable for both the food and wine and we would have no hesitation in recommending Chez Jules to everyone. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smartios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely meal in a good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our first time at chez jules and we were really impressed... the service was excellent and the food was delicious... even the side dishes of veg and potatoes were something a little bit different! The restuarant was very busy and the tables very close toghether but we enjoyed the atmosphere! and at £50 for 2 courses each and bottle of red... it didn't break the bank either! only complaint... sea food sticks in the seafood salad!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited chez jules on a few occasions a few years ago and had very fond memories however last night will be my last visit. For a table of 8, we were packed in like sardines. The waiter couldnt get to the people in the middle of the table due to all the tables cramped in, waitress had to lean over me to pass food down without an apology. As for the noise, we sat hardly talking because we had to shout over everyone else as its just so noisy. Food was very good and delicious, served in good times but the restaurant and atmosphere just let it all down. Sadly I won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Jules also viewed

 

Been to Chez Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing