We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but let down by service”

The Old Harkers Arms
Ranked #36 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food but let down by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Decided to eat here for lunch today with my fiancé and his parents. None of us had eaten at the old harkers arms before so were unsure what to expect. We found a table tucked away at the back of the restaurant which was cosy, the atmosphere seemed nice and relaxed. The waitress came over to take our order so we started ordering starters and mains but halfway through realised she didn't have a pen and pad to write down the order. She quickly ran to get a pen and pad and we continued to order. We didn't have to wait long for the starters to arrive and they looked lovely, tasted great too! The mains came shortly after finishing the starters and they didn't disappoint either, every dish was presented well, delicious and the portions were generous. When a different waitress came with the mains we asked for more drinks. We waited whilst the waitresses were chatting away to each other and it seemed she had forgot about our drinks so had to ask again. We finished our food but weren't offered a dessert menu. And the plates were left in front of us for a long time until we asked for the bill. Overall, we enjoyed the meal due to the amazing food and nice feel of the place however the waitresses let it down, I would suggest they have some training to ensure they match the high standard of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShannonBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    272
    59
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Our favourite pub in Chester....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Whenever we're in Chester we visit the Harkers for food and drink. We love the ambience, the fact it's dog friendly, the choice of beers and wines and the food. We had the fish finger sandwich(beautiful fish with a homemade sauce) and ploughmans. Both excellent choices washed down with good beer and wine. We will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickyholmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice food, good wine but a little expensive for Chester I have to say. I had a large glass of sauvignon blanc and my husband had a pint of beer and it was £12! Nevertheless, the lunch was lovely. Excellent service. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Whisky lovers meca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Really nice bar on the canal, was just down from where we were staying, really good atmosphere and had plenty of tipples to choose from

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The food my partner & I had here was nothing short of superb. Though this is reflected in the restaurant prices but they do not skimp on the quality or portions, so you do get what you pay for.

My starter, a lovely warming, tomato & red pepper soup. My partner, she has a crab & avocado salad. Followed this with two mains, one slow cooked shoulder of lamb, where the meat just fell off the bone. The other a succulent 10oz steak cooked to perfection, as requested, along with vegetables.

Couple the meals with 2 pints of Cheshire Cat beer & 2 halfs of Aspalls cider, it came in just a few pence over £52. As stated, not cheap but this is a few levels above your usual pub grub. This is a very popular pub & if you are going to give the meals ago, I recommend booking a table.

Even if you don't fancy a meal, it's still an excellent real ale pub with plenty of atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeenIt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Harkers Arms also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Harkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing