We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to go for a drink not food!”

The Old Harkers Arms
Ranked #33 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
“Good place to go for a drink not food!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We visited here for an evening meal. The place was extremely busy which is why we gave it a go. The atmosphere was good and the staff were friendly. However, although the menu offered a good choice the food was disappointing! I ordered the fish and chips, which was far too big, piles of chips! A bit over facing! The fish was mainly batter and the peas looked as though they had been reheated! For the price we paid we expected a lot more. I would recommend visiting here for a drink, nice location on the river and good choice of ales!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    282
    61
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrible meal- don't waste your money.”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The menu itself looked quite good however when the food arrived it was a different matter- the goats cheese lasagne was devoid of any goats cheese, arrived lukewarm and looked as though it had been cooked days ago and re-heated until it was totally dried up, vile.
The bread on the prawn/steak sandwiches was stale and hard.
(Both people that had the prawns spent all the next morning on the loo - not good.)
The £8.95 cheese board consisted of three small water biscuits, three digestives, four TINY slivers of bland cheese,a bit of apple and some chutney...would've been overpriced at half that price.
Do yourself a favour and go a minute along the canalside and eat at The Artichoke instead!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

No children allowed which is a bonus for us. Great real ales. Didn't eat but saw other people eating and food looked fantastic.
Gets very very busy ib the evenings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TraceyandSteve062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“How nice to find a pub that allows doggies but not brats!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

What a breath of fresh air this pub was!
Only found it as a pub close to Chester railway station.
Won big brownie points when a sign on the door said ' no children!'
Inside was lovely, quiet, no screaming brats!
Food was delicious and hot!
And whilst walking in walked a dog! I'd much prefer to share my pub with a beautiful quiet dog, than screaming brats!
Will definitely visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lopo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wont be going back in a hurry!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Visited Harkers on sunday for an early evening meal before going to the laugh inn because we are never able to go with a 4 year old as they dont allow small children but do allow dogs where people are eating?????? All I can say is very poor!! we sat at a table at the back right infront of the pass and ordered our food, Fishcakes with salad and a cod fillet with a cheddar crust. My cod fillet was completely overcooked and full of bones and the crushed new pots were a disaster! My partner said hers were a little dry but ok until she cut into the second and found a longish blonde hair!!! I've got a crew cut and shes dark so not ours!! When a restaurant charges high end prices i would expect alot more than we got!! They did knock my partners off the bill but she was left hungry as we had to leave for our show. I think if the "chefs" put more effort into cooking than laughing and joking at the pass it may have been better!!! All in all very very poor!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davidh147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Harkers Arms also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Harkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing